Ulog: A Haturday Hike and Some Healthy Banana Bread

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Oh, mountains, how I love thee.

My favourite thing is hiking, climbing up a hill step by step, alone with my thoughts and my songs. I live in an amazing place for that, with several trails close to my house.

Today I hiked up to the bench, which offers this view of our little lake community.


view


I sang my way up, like I often do, huffing and puffing and giving the occasional howl for the heck of it. ;) Okay, not really a howl, but a whoop nonetheless—a sound that comes from the deep satisfaction of having climbed a steep section of trail.


haturday


Of course I’m hiking with a hat on… Always #haturday 'round these parts.

Oh right, HAPPY EQUINOX! Today was the first day of fall up here in the north.

Nature is showing off her colours.


fall colour


When I got home from my hike, I decided to make banana bread.

I followed a recipe, loosely, adjusting things as I always do.

>> Does not follow directions. <<

The kids came over to see what I was doing.


banana bread mix


In the oven for an hour. What to do?

Steem Steem Steem


bread in the oven


This banana bread has homemade applesauce in it, plus some hemp hearts, collagen protein, and a bit of maple syrup.

I’d give you a recipe but I pretty much wing it when I cook. Sometimes it comes out well, sometimes not. This time I did good.


bread done


Yum! So delicious!

I went around to a few of my favourite discord groups and served banana bread and tea/coffee to the family of friends I’ve found through the Steem blockchain. I'm always up for having fun and sharing the love. 💖

Would you like a piece?

FREE HUGS AND BANANA BREAD!

line

That was my day. Thanks for coming along with me.

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @guiltyparties, @drakos, @curie, @noblewitness, @steemgigs, @c0ff33a, @sapphic, @followbtcnews, @steemcreative, @pfunk, @helpie — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

Thank you to ALL the witnesses who contribute to the stability and evolution of the Steem Blockchain! You are most appreciated.

alliance banner

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You ever get out to that island in the lake there?

Posted using Partiko Android

Couple times in the winter, over the ice. ;)

I’m at work waiting for the IT guy to update my anti-virus. I’m jealous! Love the photos. :)

Aw, well, I hope you have a good rest of your day at work. Wish you could join me for a hike sometime, for real! :)

Oh my gosh, I definitely want a piece! And I'd love to live so close to hiking trails; the most hiking I get done is between classes :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62767.81
ETH 2942.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55