#ULOG 21 : Plantbox Reclaim 🐱🐾🚽

in #ulog6 years ago

I am currently having a lower back and hip pain now but it is a productive day still. I gathered enough soil for my planters. All I need is just the vermicast soon to recharge it with nutrients. I have a spare and barren area at the side of our house where I was planning to move my plants with established roots.

IMG_20180607_152716.jpg

Anyway, it's only a part of today's happenings in the yard. The highlight today was me trying to find a way to reclaim the plantbox fronting the dining area.

I have mentioned in my earlier posts that our stray cats were making it as their litterbox 😢😦 and it's a stinky disaster. They keep coming back to do their thing there... 😭

To make the long story short, something came up while I was trimming my Sansevierias. I realized I could prevent them from 💩ing there if I can cover it with something else, like mulching in a way?

I simply dump all the snakeplants in the sparse area in the box covering the soil so the cats won't be able to touch the dirt. Hopefully that would prevent them from 💩ing there.

IMG_20180609_093007.jpg

However, it's just so sad that I can't plant anything there yet. I have to wait until those leaves rot. I would also need to check on the cats ones the leaves are fully dried.


@yoo1900 @slowwalker @mbp @jerrybanfield @buildawhale @rocky1 @hr1 @bue @firepower @s4s @bayanihan @surpassinggoogle @emperorofnaps

Sort:  

Good luck with your plants and cats :p and hoping for pain relief for you

thank you @chuckler 😅

Hey!
Mulch is great as a top layer. It keeps the soil moist, as it is not exposed to direct sun, weeds have a hard time growing.
If you want to plant something in the mulch you just move it aside until you reach the soil and plant.
You don't necessarily have to wait for your green clippings to rot as you can use the same method as with mulch.

I would suggest taking a look at Paul Gautschi on youtube. He uses woodchips in his whole garden, and it looks great!

Take care!😺

yes olafar, i have moved them a bit enough for the existing amaryllises to thrive. I have inserted a few spider plants as well, made space for them so the water can get in. unfortunately I can't find any cardboard or woodchips to cover the ground but I might look into that if what i have now wont work😁 thanks for the suggestion ☺️

HI there koshin, i too was gardening today, cleaning the area close to the kitchen,
the snake plant there here we call it lidah mertua(Parent in Laws tounge) heheheh razor sharp.
just want to let you know, those leaf is hard to decompose, they even grow into new plants if you cut and drop the leaf in the ground. but their good house plant.
Good luck with your cat
and enjoy your back

they are hard to decompose indeed and would definitely grow when burried to the ground😁. they are more crowded in my other plantbox so I have to trim them, yes they are good houseplant and excellent air purifiers 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96