#Ulog 5: Obeying the Clarion Call!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem Fam!
How are you all? It's really been a while I updated my blog and I have missed you all too. As much as I would love to update my blog consistently, I have not had the time, this post will explain why I have been away for a while.

Some weeks back, I was called up for the National youth service corps(NYSC) programme in my country(NIGERIA).

BeautyPlus_20180830121624_save.jpg

A little about NYSC in Nigeria.

The National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) is a scheme set up by the Nigerian government to involve the country's graduates in the development of the country. There is no military conscription in Nigeria, but since 1973 graduates of universities and later polytechnics have been required to take part in the National Youth Service Corps program for one year.

The scheme trains all Nigerian graduates on patriotism, unity and how to give their selfless service to the growth of the country for the period of one year.

Why I have been away.

The NYSC scheme usually starts with an "orientation" period of approximately three weeks spent in a military controlled boot "camp" away from family and friends. The orientation Camp started a week ago and I was posted to Sokoto State, the northern part of the country which is like two days away from home(the eastern part of the country where I live)

The orientation period is just to prepare us for the one service year and it comprises of a lot of military trainings, skills acquisition and other trainings. It would be difficult for me to create content consistently inside this camp.

About my stay so far in the NYSC orientation Camp, Sokoto.

My stay so far has been awesome. On the 30th of August, I was sworn in as a Corp member of NYSC, federal republic of Nigeria.

BeautyPlus_20180830142351_save.jpg

The weather is very hot here, I am gradually turning from light skinned to dark skinned.
The flies here are just too much. Gosh...I hate flies!
The early morning wake-ups, I am still trying to adjust to it.
The early morning parades. Oh no! I hate parades. It hurts my feets.
Meeting other people from other ethnic groups in Nigeria has also been worth the stay in this camp.

However, I am grateful for the long awaited opportunity to obey the clarion call and serve my country. I am hoping that to the best of my abilities, I would make this one year count.

Other pictures taken on the day of swearing in.
IMG_20180830_115427.jpg

IMG_20180830_091949.jpg

IMG_20180830_115454.jpg

IMG_20180830_091952.jpg

One thing I am scared of is to be forgetten on steemit. I don't know how often I can update my blog neither do I know how long I will be away. I love steemit and that would never change and I promise that as soon I settle in, I would start updating my blog consistently and participating in the community like before.

Thanks guys for your support!
Much love from @kweenbrand

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

It all worked out at last, and I am really glad it did.

I stayed in Sokoto for a really short while, well, if that's what you would call three years (I did my senior sec school there). I can very much relate to the hot weather but it wasn't a new thing for me back then because I stayed in Maiduguri before going there (and it is relatively hot as well), and those Sokoto flies really do have no respect for humans... Hahahah

Well, you should prepare for the cold season as well, because the weather is gonna be extremely cold (with fog covering everywhere). Happy service year, I hope you enjoy all of it.

Yes. I am glad it did too. Wow! 3 years is a long time o. Thanks for giving me head's up though. I am glad you stopped by.

Yeah,... My pleasure!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kweenbrand from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Looks like you've been having quite an adventure. I'm sure the whole experience has been a lot of fun.

An adventure with a blend of little fun and much stress. It's really stressful in here. Thanks so much ma'am for stopping by. I appreciate.

Greetings! My name is Sofía and I'm new to steemit. I discovered your blog because the empathetic listening article. You are such a positive writer and you write about things I care for. I'm already following you, so you wont be forgotten here. I would like you ro check out my posts (only two so far) . I believe we have a lot in common. Keep up the great work!

Thanks for your kind words. I will when I can.

The NYSC looks like a really good initiative by your government. I wish you the best as you participate further in it.

Thank you so much.

That sounds like a great alternative to military service. Great post!

Yes. Thank you!

howdy there kweenbrand! don't worry, we'll never forget you and steemit will be here for you when you return. I'm thrilled that you are happy to serve your country in this way.

Hey, I didn't know you could get a suntan, is that what you are talking about? lol. God bless you!

Nooo. I don't need a suntan o. I am naturally dark, don't want to become like charcoal. The sun here is just much.

Thanks for your kind words and best wishes. I appreciate.

Congratulations @kweenbrand! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kweenbrand! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58