#ULOG 021: THE ALPHA WOLF (Artwork #07) | A Step-by-Step Illustration

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

LRM_EXPORT_20180612_144530.jpg

The Alpha Wolf (Artwork #07)

I'm now really hooked on watercolors. This is my second artwork using watercolor and it's just so addicting. It relaxes my mind and soul. I never knew that watercoloring would be this great and fun. For me, given that I'm still a beginner, the making of this artwork was quite challenging. I got confused where to start, where I should put the colors, where I should paint next- that sort of stuff. I think I didn't even started painting the right way. But still, I put my heart and soul into it and. And I'm happy to say that I am truly satisfied with the output.

If you want to look at my first artwork using watercolors, here is the link to the post:
https://steemit.com/ulog/@kwenkwennnn/ulog-019-her-artwork-06-or-a-step-by-step-illustration

This is also one of my recent sketches - a portrait sketch of Angelina Jolie. Here is the link to the post:
https://steemit.com/ulog/@kwenkwennnn/ulog-018-angelina-jolie-artwork-05-or-a-step-by-step-illustration

IMG_20180610_123025.jpg

All photos are mine and I used my Oppo A37 in taking these pictures. I think it only took me an hour to finish this artwork and the materials that I used were:
✔️ Watercolor set
✔️ Two paintbrushes
✔️ Eraser
✔️ My good old HB Staedtler pencil
✔️ Heavy ballpoint pen
✔️ Sketchbook

So, without further ado, may I present you the artwork process.

IMG_20180612_131857.jpg

The sketch is really light. I tried to make it look like there were no pencil marks at all.

As a beginner, I need an outline. The picture looks like it's blurry but it really isn't. It's just that the pencil marks were really light. I made it look like this so that it won't appear after I add some colors.

LRM_EXPORT_20180612_195929.jpg

The colors are messy and it didn't appear to look the way I wanted it to be.

I got so confused how to blend and control the colors. I used wet on wet method but it didn't really work out well at first. The light blue went first then I added dark blue on the wolf's fur and black on its ear while the paper is still wet. At first, I was disappointed because the colors were in disorder. I thought maybe I should try to start all over again.

LRM_EXPORT_20180612_195801.jpg

The wolf is starting to appear. Now it looks much cleaner than before.

But I didn't stop. I tried to find ways to somehow make it less messy. I continued adding colors until I got satisfied with the result. Then, I painted black on its nose, eyes and jaw.

LRM_EXPORT_20180612_195740.jpg

It looks much better with a "dripping" effect.

Then I decided to add a dripping effect to somehow make it more attractive to look at. I didn't really let the watercolors drip on their own, I blew air to them so that I can freely choose what direction they should be "dripping". But I still thought that it's missing something.

LRM_EXPORT_20180612_144530.jpg

This is the final product.

So I then painted a red-yellow gradient on the wolf's face and started splattering random colors to make it lively. I may not had a good start on this artwork but I am really satisfied of how it ended. And this, my fellow steemians, is my Artwork no. 7 - "The Alpha Wolf".

I will gladly accept criticism so that I may apply it on my next artworks and be able to improve myself. Thank you so much. I hope you guys like it. 😊 That would be all, my fellow steemians. Keep on steeming! Keep ulogging. 😊💕

xoxo,
@kwenkwennnn



Big thanks to @surpassinggoogle for this #ULOG movement. Join us and become a ulogger. Please follow and support our very own @surpassinggoogle, @teardrops, and also @purepinay. Vote @steemgigs as your witness! Thank you all so much! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68