Ulog #1: It’s Been Awhile...

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

unnamed.png

The last post I wrote was 4 months ago but it sure felt longer than that.

huie2.jpg

This little person was one of the reasons I put writing on hold. There were just too many things to be sorted out before she arrives and the many public holidays at the beginning of the year were not helping.

In April after she came, I did not feel like doing anything at all during my holiday aka maternity leave. I stayed at a confinement centre (or a postnatal retreat as I prefer to call it) during the first month. It was a real treat! All I had to do was eat, feed, rest and wait for the next meal to be served. :)

771C125B-49D2-414A-B64D-33718AD4BFB2.jpeg
This is how my daily holiday meal look like.

The first month passed too quickly and came second month I was back home and on my own. Took me about a week or so to adjust but things got easy after that. I enjoyed the quiet time at home cleaning, organising, decluttering and just enjoying the company of the baby.

When it was time to go back to work, I had a bit of mixed feelings. I could not decide whether I like going to work or staying at home more.

The one month at home had given me a lot of quiet time to bond with the baby and more time for house chores so there were less laundry piling up. 😂

On the other hand, going to work makes me feel more physically connected to the world outside plus there is a guarantee of peaceful lunch.

With things getting back into routine, I felt ready to write again. Funny how it had seemed like an uphill task.

Maybe because I had stopped too long.

Maybe I was on holiday mood.

Maybe I was stuck because I could not think of any quality content to write about.

Just when I was looking for an idea some ladies on #steemitmamas discord were discussing about #ulog and bam! - it was the exact thing I was looking for.

Thanks ladies!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Aww mama! She is an angel! I'm so glad you had 2 great months with her after going back to the grind. I understand how that felt.

Hahaha @crosheille just had her little angel as well and she has a full head of hair.

thank you mama.

@crossheille's angel is just lovely! I miss them when they are newborn already.

Omaigad @ladylei, she's such a cutie. It's nice to see you back on Steemit. Let me be the first to welcome you back. Haha.

Thanks @viverridae. Haha, it's like you are always there to to catch me when I needed most :)

I'm always around. Hihi. Like chipsmore, now u see me, now u don't.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Keep it up, mummy.

Wow fascinating stuff - a postnatal retreat. I would love to know more. Well done mama for bringing such a beautiful baby into this world. X

Thanks @startreat.

Most Asians need to go through a period of confinement right after childbirth for about a month. It normally lasts 28, 45 or 100 days depending on which practise you follow. The period allows new mamas to rest and recuperate thus they are confined at home. The older generation are normally a bit more strict with rules such as no touching of water from the tap, no hairwash for x number of days, no direct exposure to wind and you will need to follow a specific diet and take some herbal concoction etc. With postnatal retreat they still follow the general rule but it’s much more relaxed. Haha maybe I’ll do a post on that another time

Yes definitely do please write about the retreats!

How interesting. It's something I think lots of people would be interested to hear about. I look forward to that post! xx

I actually enjoy your writings @ladylei. Maybe because they do represent who you really are, a very pleasant and nice lady.

Thank you for sharing with us your girl today and how you felt transiting from one phase to another. Experiences like this are precious :) Keep writing dear!

thanks for the encouragement @happycrazycon :)

wow confinement centre sounds awesome! I've heard about those! We don't have that here so my mum just drops by every day.

Your daughter is soo cute!! And no worries rest up mama, look forward to hearing more when you have the time.

yes, they are nice to have. haha possible to start one in your area? having your mom as company and helping out here and there is precious too

Hah, exactly how I feel too! I've gone quiet for a week or so with all the work and babies action. I shall start real soon 😄

let's jia you together!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99