Ulog - Week one

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I'm writing this at Lanseria Airport after spending a week in Johannesburg.
I had an hour and a half before boarding, and just read the #ulog post @therneau shared with me and thought what a great idea having a kind of personal steemit diary, so this is the perfect time to start ulogging!
IMG_20180505_160917.jpg
#ulog and #ulogs is all about what U have been doing today, a kind of personal diary here on steemit.
This initiative was started by @surpassinggoogle, read all about it in this Post.

So what brought me here today?

About two weeks ago I received tragic news of the suicide of a very close friend of my son. A beautiful young woman who never reached her full potential, a victim of terminal depression. Our special angel Angie was only laid to rest this week.

I came to say my goodbyes but more importantly to support my son who has spent the past eight years encouraging his friend.
The bonus was that I got to spend real quality time with my two sons who both live in Johannesburg, strange how tragedy often brings people together.
Hubby stayed behind to run our little bnb.

I live in Queensburgh, a suburb of the coastal city of Durban, at an altitude of 65 metres, so am not used to the dry cold air of Johannesburg with an altitude of 1753 metres. Temperatures differ hugely.

I'm going home with a real bad sinus attack, can't wait to get back to the mild tropical climate of Durban!

Ok guys, all the above was my Ulog written last Saturday!

I've been home for a whole week and I'm only now getting back to it; where has the time gone?

Sunday was swallowed up by preparing for new guests who all required dinners and breakfasts.
We run our little bnb with the help of a housekeeper who works a three day week, and a three day a week gardener, so we're very much hands on here.
A young fresh faced student from a tiny little inland town arrived first, very nice young man.
As I was about to start dinner prep, our regular business guests called to say their flight was delayed and they would not need dinner. Yay, I was let off the hook there!

Monday morning breakfast had to be served by 6:45, so it was an early rise for me.

Later on I made my Springtime Sandwich for #steemitsandwichcontest. Been entering for the past 20 weeks, so could not let the awesome SSC team down!
IMG_20180507_163113.jpg

We have had some funny incidents with guests; especially the regular students who come from little towns up country.
Of course the first years think it's party time; girls and the beaches calling them all the time.

They all try their luck - one young man brought his 'sister', and we allowed an afternoon visit, but when another 'sister' arrived the next day for another young man, we had to lay down the law - any extra visitors will be billed to their respective companies, so of course the sister visits stopped immediately!

Another young man who stayed out late one night, sheepishly told hubby that the traffic was very heavy the night before...huh...peak traffic at midnight? Hubby always tells them that their future is in their own hands, we are not here to watch their movements, but somehow they feel they have to explain :)

Fortunately, besides their hormones troubling them, these young students have been good guys. One youngster called us on New Year's Eve to wish us a happy new year, so that tells us that we have made an impact on some.

Ok, I got sidetracked, but that is all part of hosting guests in our bnb, and the type of things we deal with daily.

The rest of the week got swallowed up as well, with guests coming and going for all kinds of reasons - student, business guests, visiting family and this weekend guests visiting a sick family member.

I made Pepper & Corn Bread on Thursday for my weekly entry into #cookwithus, another awesome contest where one sees amazing food and meet some real talented cooks!

Corn Bread.jpg

We have a large garden in which we've tried to grow vegetables, but the vervet monkeys eat them before we can get to them. Papayas grow in abundance, enough for the birds, monkeys and us!
Some pretty flowers in our garden.
IMG_20180509_141709.jpg

Interesting small fruit trees that we have, which the monkeys do not bother with as the branches are not strong enough, is called Tamarillo. This certainly is not an indigenous plant, hails from South America. It was passed on by a friend, and we managed to pick a whole bowl of these delights on Friday, delicious fruit tasting like passion fruit mixed with kiwi fruit.
IMG_20180414_131154.jpg
A bowl of Tamarillo delights
IMG_20180510_173907.jpg

So that's it for my first ulog, hoping my next one will not be a week long ulog, but rather a daily one, if time allows!


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by, please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
All images property of @lizelle
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

This is interesting, this ulog thing, I think I might give it a try and call it my Daily Dose of Sultnpapper, yea, that sounds pretty good.
Of course I might not write down everything, and I might get sidetracked every now and then with it but for the most part I think I can make this work. Thanks for sharing Lizelle, this makes my day.

I was actually thinking that you're the original ulogger with your Daily Dose mr Papper, give it a try!

I'm good without needing a label of ulogger, I just need more ureaders and uvoters.

I was impressed with the super sandwich for week 39. Your food always has a good variety of ingredients and the creativity you use to make it.

I'm curious about that fruit what's its name?

Thank you @yesslife, your sandwiches are also super impressive! It's called a Tamarillo, so tasty!

Ahhh, I'm glad you found another avenue to blog about. I hope my cousin is holding up ok. I gave him a ring after finding out but haven't chatted to him since.

Thanks to you @therneau! Warren's doing fine but having to deal with a lot of questions, the ifs and maybe's and the usual things after losing someone like that. Just so sad, she was a lovely kind young woman, he spoke to her every morning and every evening so it's a massive gap! They were so close but never in a romantic way. I will never forget the kindness you and Jusi showed when he was in Cape Town xxx

Still such a sad story about Angie and I'm glad that you were able to be there for Warren. Running the bnb sounds very entertaining and I had a good chuckle at the 'sister' bit.

It gets very entertaining at times, will be ulogging about it from now on. Those sistas and the heavy midnight traffic was so funny...and you have to keep a straight face :):)
What happened to Angie was so tragic, I believe her family should not have put her into an apartment all on her own after a serious suicide attempt in Feb (she was in a coma for 5 days then!); she was jobless due to the company going under, they then talked her into opening another company in her name, which also failed! So so sad!

Yes so very sad. Even sadder that her family was so clueless in their approach.

That's what I can't digest, Warren even said it was a recipe for disaster letting her stay on her own in the state she was!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88