ULOG: 41 Art Activity: Puppet

in #ulog6 years ago

801bd3552141df71671e76171b83355b.0.jpg
Puppet made by my son in school which I snapped using my phone
Last Friday my son, Angelo was excitedly running home looks like he got something to show me. That is how usually all kids are.

They can not contain their emotions be it joy or sadness.

Angelo pulled out something from his school bag and he handed it to me. The green yarn caught my attention first and the rest of it looked like junk at first glance. I don't know what it is or what he wants me to do with this thing until I heard him say

I got a perfect score.

I somehow knew this could be a school art project. He explained what it was and the process of creating it. I think this is one of the rare occasions that they made something on their own. Usually they create such kind of art as homework. I was not there to look after him or guide him. He was on his own using his imagination and creativity to produce something that earned him a perfect score. I had helped him accomplish several projects but none of them got a perfect score. I am convinced now that the performance inside the classroom without outside intervention is more important and given the best true rating. Anyway it doesn't matter to me what rating he could get. What is really valuable to me as a parent is my son was able to create something on his own. I noticed lately he loses confidence in himself easily when accomplishing a task because I was always there for him ready to guide and assist. I realized he needs to do whatever task on his own and I would be there over his shoulders only. Allowing him to discover, make mistakes and thus learn. I am trying my best not to be in control always because I know that's how a child will learn valuable lessons and skills in life.

The puppet is a surprise to me. My son was able to create a face, a hair and a torso. He did three basic parts on his own without my help. I felt great and started feeling confident about my son's ability to pull it off alone. Thanks for reading my ulog
@london65

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11