Ulog # 14: Mourning My Lost Glasses

in #ulog6 years ago

Hello, Steemit universe!

So yeah, this one isn’t about sunsets. It’s about my lost glasses. I am not one to mourn the loss of things, mainly because of the "sunk cost principle". That if you have already paid for something, it no longer matters if you use it or not, the cost associated with that thing has already been incurred and you most probably cannot get it back. This principle has gotten me relatively unscathed through the loss of material things. Admittedly, it could never be applied to humans.

Funny thing though, I just lost my glasses and is sad about it the way I'm not usually sad about loss. I went out for fieldwork yesterday and upon arriving there, I realized my glasses weren't with me. I wasn't alarmed because I thought it was just at the office. When I went back to the office and checked in my desk, it wasn't there. That was when I remembered I took it off during the taxi ride and placed it at the space at the left side passenger door. We still had the receipt and the contact info of the taxi Company so I thought it would be okay, that I would be able to retrieve it. At that moment it was still hilarious to me, I laughed it off and contacted the taxi operator who graciously helped me contact the driver of the unit I rode.

I guess it started to sink in that I would not be able to see my glasses again on the third call, when the operator informed me that they already made the driver return to their compound so they could check the taxi personally; it wasn't there anymore. The probably scenario is that the next passenger got it. Whatever the case, the chances are really slim now, my glasses are really gone and is probably in the hands of a stranger who will never know what that little spectacle meant to me.
6A2391B8-5112-49B7-9A7C-B327E167438B.jpeg

My eyesight isn't really bad, I can see perfectly well without it. It just happens that I have a high sensitivity to bright lights and that prolonged exposure to it mostly causes a burning sensation in my eyes which eventually ends in a headache. This is why, more than a year ago, I decided to buy anti-glare glasses. It had a pretty frame too, kinda like Harry Potter's. People liked that one a lot, which is understandable 'coz it was really cute. But more than aesthetics, a rather sentimental reason why I am mourning the loss is because it served as a shield, a somewhat barrier against the world. It made harsh lights softer, but more than that, it served the same purpose as a face mask did, which is, to hide me from the world. That's a rather odd take on a simple pair of glasses, but then again, the world is odd and so are we.

And sometimes, I forget that it isn't there anymore, and I would reach for the container to shake it, and there would be an empty sound instead of the usual clink of the glasses against the case, and I would be just a little sadder.
5169B186-6C42-46D9-A8A6-D3890C67E97E.jpeg

Anyway, I guess it's high time I buy new ones. But that little one will always be remembered fondly. It served its purpose well.

Throwback to a time when it was still with me. 💔
271ECE6A-D28E-4215-BE7A-D414330D22A8.jpeg

1C731B23-4AA3-4E94-B0AE-5F4A81692B38.jpeg

Sort:  

Well, well, I have found your glasses. Kindly send your address and location. I am bringing it down myself. Because drones and plane ✈ doesn't flies in my locale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59