#ULOG Journal 5|Visiting Lolo's (Grandpa) Home

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


I never appreciated the wild before until Steemit came and sprouted my interest in recognizing unrecognizable living.


IMG20180513151719-01.jpg


So, I am making my #Ulog journal a day after because I was thinking I must input everything from morning till evening but, honestly, that's not the main reason in this ulog journal. I made my blog last night about my involvement in the first discord talk show I joined. Basically, this ulog is basically still my activity.


After I woke up, I immediately ate my lunch and then prepared myself to get to my grandfather's home. My mother told me days ago that they will be visiting my grandfather's home to get the unripe bananas and to pick dry coconut palms to use for cooking, a usual way of cooking in the suburb. Most people in my place don't use the electronic devices to cook, instead, they go to the wild and pick some wood or dry coconut palms.

We just got off on the highway since they had to attend a meeting that my grandfather is a member with. It's a corporation meeting of few people whose main purpose is to help the family who lost somebody. I was waiting at a bench nearby the rendezvous. I could hear them talking loudly, almost screaming. They're having an argument on something I don't really care.






An hour later, they were done so we started to walk to my grandfather's home. It was around 3 PM that time and I could feel the scorching heat in my skin. Although there were coconut trees and others, those didn't help to provide a shed to us. But that really didn't bother me much as my mind was thinking of having a chance to go out and I could input something interesting in my ulog journal.






I was thinking pictures everywhere, fascinated by almost everything I could see. Never in my life before that, I appreciated such things. I used to just walk there without giving a sight to everything along the road. I never care about the wild plants... or the trees... or the sky. Steemit gave me the reason to appreciate simple things and it made me realize how I just disregard a lot of things around me.

IMG20180513152944-01.jpg






My mother immediately got inside my Lolo's (grandpa) house and get a long machete. She headed to the back and got out of the old, rusty barbed wire barricade and my grandfather was just following her. I was taking pictures everywhere. All I thought was taking pictures because I want to share with you all the beauty of the suburb.






When I tried to follow them, I was a bit shocked how tall the wild grasses are. My brother just cut them a year ago but now they're taller than me. I almost couldn't see my grandpa and mother. The dog, Pedang, was sniffing at me that gave me a worried feeling. The last time we met, she was still months old but now she has got puppies and I was worried she might bite me. Whenever she got near me, I would tell her "No." and probably understood me because she would not get closer but there were still times that she would get close at me or jumped around me.






Grandpa's small parcel is covered with really huge wild grasses. I got deeper into and I felt like I was in the wood, though it isn't really like that. It isn't as big as the real wood nevertheless the vibe of the tall wild grasses, coconut trees, and other plants gives you that. As I was walking towards my grandfather and mother, I passed by some wildflowers that I always see whenever I get to a place like this. These are just common wildflowers but I don't know their names. I'll give you the chance to see them yourself and maybe you can give names to these wildflowers.






After everything was settled, my grandfather was carrying a plastic bag full of unripe bananas and my mother was carrying some few dry coconut palms. Although my grandfather owns the area, he isn't familiar with the right way anymore so I led the way for him. Mama gathered all the dry coconut palms she got and cut them into average size pieces. My grandfather helped her in arranging the cut pieces and fasten them together using the skin of a wood that I don't know the name. When they're done, they just put their on the side and Mama said she'll eventually get them when she gather's a lot.






We packed our things and heat out of the gate, just then y cousin's sons arrived to feed the roosters and chicken that my uncle owns. My uncle, my mother's younger brother, is the one staying in my grandfather's house because he has a lot of roosters. My uncle is a renowned cockfight referee and he has been to several cockfight arenas to maneuver cockfights.

IMG20180513163024-01.jpeg

We bid our goodbyes to the two kids and heading towards the highway. My mother suddenly talked and motioned her hand to the plants that have been planted like a barricade in my grandfather's neighbor, where we also got the java apples. One tree got huge three ball-like fruits. My mother said that this fruit can be used to cure medicine such as cancer but I don't know if it's true.

IMG20180513152437-01.jpg

We saw the neighbor has a lot of java apples and his front yard has been covered with damaged and rotten java apples. We asked if we could buy some but the owner merrily answered to just grab how many we like. I happily grabbed some. My mother tweaked from the branches and put it in her bag, even my grandfather joined in plucking some. When we got home, our family happily shared the java apples and dip it in salt. Well, it isn't very sweet which it usually is but I still love eating java apples even if it's not that sweet.




That's all for today's #ulog journal.



Remember to always be optimistic whatever you are going through right now.

DQmcL26kK8mGJMgKE6we25qo5Fr7SYjkts1gQpkQ5g3rAvt_1680x8400.png
Support @Surpassinggoogle by creating your own #ulog and #steemgigs now. If you haven't heard of it, read ulogs blog about it.

Note:

All pictures used are taken and edited by @loudetteiam.

DQmcL26kK8mGJMgKE6we25qo5Fr7SYjkts1gQpkQ5g3rAvt_1680x8400.png

If you haven't read my #ulog stories, you can check them here.



#Ulog Episode 1: A Random Saturday
#Ulog Episode 2: Jollibee Made me Happy and I also Learned Something New Today
#Ulog Episode 3: Should I Let my Job Go?
#Ulog Journal 4: Simplicity and Satisfaction

Simple+Divider.png


Spread LOVE!



Loving you all, Steemians.

Loudette 😘

Sort:  

I love your photos and the simplicity yet beautiful life in the province. I want some tambis now...pleasee..

Thank you po. Punta po kayo dito ma'am. Hehehe

I have that feeling as well at times of just walking around and then something hits me and I start to think how I can make a Steemit post about it hahahha.

That exactly the effect of Steemit and #ulog to me. Hahaha

when I say a ULOG is as difficult as 1,2,3. We just reshaped the internet among other things.

Apparently, i noticed the change

Totally, Sir Terry and everything is because of you. #ulog initiative makes Steemians go beyond the world of blogging.

Thanks for the write up, am motivated to write. 👍

Great! Never hesitate to write.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T20:37:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.50/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94