TRADITION!!.........

in #ulog6 years ago

In my bio above I mention how we threw a bat mitzvah for our cat on her 13th birthday. Today I decided to share that story that was originally on my blog. Enjoy! (The original blog entry can be found here: https://beanxiousaboutnothing.wordpress.com/2018/05/05/tradition/

It was birthday week in our house as Riley turned 2 and Phoebe turned 13. To celebrate Riley's birthday, I sent out the following picture to family and friends:

Riley Birthday Collar.jpg

Now, I know what you are thinking, "Uh, he looks pissed." And I'm not gonna lie, he wasn't completely on board, but it wasn't tight on his neck, it was on for only 45 seconds, and he survived and forgave me very soon after this photo was taken. ;-) #DontComeForMyBum

Now for Phoebe, I wanted to do something a little grander. As she turned 13 and that's a milestone birthday, we decided to celebrate with a very simple and intimate Bat Mitzvah.

I know what you are thinking, "But, you aren't even Jewish! That's cultural appropriation!!" And to that I say, first, slow your roll, bruh. Secondly, technically Jesus was Jewish and we like Him so.....

And thirdly, there's been a debate in my family about how much Jewish ancestry we have. Not really a debate as everyone agrees there has to be some, but we don't know exactly how much. Which is why I've been walking around in life the last few years telling people I'm about 1/18th ish Jewish.

And so we threw a simple, intimate Bat Mitzvah for our oldest cat. She was overcome with joy.

Phoebe Bat Mitzvah Crown.jpg

Seriously, that is her joy face.

And to make sure everyone felt included, I even made a tiny yarmulke for Riley. He was appropriately pleased.

Riley Yarmulke.jpg

L'chaiyim!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60985.22
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74