Ulog #59: Planting Some In Our Yard Makes Us Save

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

In our yard, we have planted different kinds of chillis. We have the siling labuyo, Bell pepper and siling haba. This chillis is now bearing some fruits. Instead of buying some chillis in the market, we are just picking it in our yard. It is a big help for us to save from buying.

IMG_20180714_161749_422.jpg
Bell Pepper

IMG_20180714_161749_426.jpg

IMG_20180714_161749_428.jpg
Siling haba, good for sinigang.

IMG_20180501_065953_312.jpg
Siling labuyo

This morning I am thinking what to cook for our lunch. Since we have bell pepper and some chillis in our yard, my husband told me to cook Beef Caldereta for lunch. I have just bought meat and vegetables in the market since the other ingredients were already available in our house like the bell pepper. I think I had saved a lot from buying it, even if I don't know how much is that in the market today. But still I saved by not buying it.

I have started cooking at 10 am. We usually eat at 11 am, because my kids were already hungry at that time. This is my first time to cook beef caldereta that's why I have to research some recipes through Google, lol. And when I'm done, I'm glad that they love what I cook. My kids love it eventhough they just eat the potato and carrots.

IMG_20180711_124818_572.jpg
My version of Beef Caldereta

Here is the recipe I followed on cooking Beef Caldereta.

BEEF CALDERETA

1/4 cup oil
2 pcs large potato, large diced
1 pc large carrots, cut into oblique
1 kg beef kalitiran cut into 1inch cubes 1sachet 8G maggi magic sarap
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 pc onion, minced
1 pc red chili,minced
3/4 cup tomato paste
1/2 cup liver spread
2 pcs bay leaves
1 pc red bell pepper, medium diced
1 pc green bell pepper, medium diced
1/4 bar cheese, grated
1/4 cup coconut cream
1/4 cup green peas (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Fry potato and carrot separately in oil until golden brown and set aside.
  2. Season beef with MAGGI MAGIC SARAP. Sear seasoned beef and set aside.
  3. Sauté garlic, onion and chili. Add tomato paste and liver spread and cook for 5minutes over low heat.
  4. Transfer into a pot together with the seared beef. Barely cover with water and add bay leaves. Simmer until tender. Add water as needed.
  5. Once tender, add fried potato, carrot and bell peppers. Simmer for 10 minutes. Season with MAGGI MAGIC SARAP. Finish with cheese, coconut cream and green peas.
    Recipe Source

It tastes good. If you are planning to cook some for your lunch, you can also try this recipe.

This ends my #ulog for today. Have a great day everyone!

Photos are all mine.

Evony
@lunamystica
July 15, 2018

I would like to thank @iwrite for mentoring me and for his patience. I am very blessed and thankful to have him as my mentor. To my @steemitdiversify family thank you for all the support.
Please cast your vote for @surpassinggoogle as a witness. Visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.
To give him your witness voting decision, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Other recommended witness: @beanz @curie @teamsteem @acidyo @reggaemuffin @utopian-io @good-karma @blocktrades @timcliff @hr1 @cloh76.witness @busy.org @precise @arcange @jerrybanfield @jesta @anomadsoul @bobbylee @henry-gant and @paradise-found

luna.gif

received_1905481269525255.jpeg

received_1991362277603820.jpeg

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

yummy but I am not fond of hot and spicy, I just won't eat the chili

Bell pepper is not spicy naman maam, and ung red chilli sa recipe hindi ko minince kasi may mga bata na kakain,hehe. May kunti lang ako binago.

that's the advantage of having a backyard garden, sis... that viand looks so delicious... can I have some? lol

Yum yum 😋

wow sis. I love to have my own little garden in our backyard too!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lunamystica from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97