#ulog 12: (Trying To) Gather Eggs and Battling With the Broody Hens...

in #ulog6 years ago

My Friend Was Over & Thought This Was Hilarious

Me getting torn apart by our 10 broody hens as I just try and get their potential children the eggs.

36634860_1903386129756331_3372908237832585216_n.jpg

I'm trying, gently, to break them of their broodiness. When I go to get the eggs, I take them one by one (two by two when I'm lucky) out to the chicken run to try and get them living their lives again instead of all laying there together in a pile in the coop all day.

Broodiness spreads like wildfire through our flock. As soon as one goes broody it's like everyone wants to join in the bitchy fun! They start screaming as soon as they hear me undo the lock on the coop. It breaks my heart but we just can't hatch any more chicks, we already have a flock of 35 chickens because of their crazy breeding skills.

36611249_1903384816423129_8347195139352952832_n.jpg

As you can see I'm wearing gloves. They bite the shit out of me! #chickenbitchez, this is partly how they got their name 😂

36511079_1903385363089741_635933770041524224_n.jpg

You guys like how they hide under there? I'm seriously considering asking @hendrix22 to block off that whole ledge. It's so hard for me to get under there. And yeah, if @eddiebowes read this he'd be laughing so hard I could hear him from across the country. He's away for the summer visiting his Family. He's my egg man, and he's got them so tamed. Actually even Brendan has an easier time getting the eggs from the broodies compared to me. When he comes home from work early enough I employ him!

36538496_1903316939763250_2375870999276027904_n.jpg

Not a bad amount of eggs considering we have 10 broody hens and at least that many more are moulting. I hope you're having a beautiful day/evening where ever you are my sweet #ulog family!

Sort:  

Never knew 🐔 🐔 🐔 could be so aggressive.

Most mothers are I've found lololol :)

:)

Ding ding ding! Round one! Fight!
Lyndsay wins!

Next time she should use the star uppercut..

↑↑↓↓←→←→BA

I had 4 chickens at one time, and one of my Australorp ladies got broody. Hearing her growl at me was kind of funny, but I also felt really bad for her. All she wanted was a family! 😭

And they taste so much better than any you can buy from a supermarket, at least that is what I have found.
I have not eaten a supermarket egg for over 4 years now.

Have a great day, to you and the family.

Everyone else sure says so! I wouldn't know lol, can't eat eggs unless they are in baking :) Crazy Egg Lady indeed!

Hope you're staying cool and enjoying the day with family <3 Much Love DAZ!

We are having a fantastic day here, thank you for asking, it is a childless one for the last 8 hours, as she is at the lakes, getting some sunshine and swimming. Blissful afternoon of adult fun. (I shall say no more)

That sounds like paradise, well done! Enjoy...

in my village (aceh), every house must keep the chicken. what about there?

Here it is rare for a home to keep chickens. I wish everyone was encouraged to grow their own food and raise animals here. We would be less dependent on corporations for our daily needs.

oh, you've just caught the words from my mouth;)
I was going to write it in the comments;)

Absolutely agree with you! It's my dream to have all food for my faimily cooked and even grown by ourselves. It's not only health and safety, but it's also freedom and independence, you're right. It's a great way to create your own small universe where you're free and far from this crazy world..

The post is great! I saw how it's done in villages (our relatives have chickens as well), but I've never experienced it by myself. Not so easy as it can seem!
#chickenbitchez is great and funny;)))
and yes, they can bite and hurt I know it;))

Thank you for writing @taliakerch, I love the work that you are doing and it sure sounds like we share similar values and hopes for life!

We are here a lot of rice fields, chicken coops, goats and cattle.

Still remember with these three chicks

IMG_20180216_190352.jpg
IMG_20180310_212620.jpg
IMG_20180713_050306.jpg

5 months

Heyyyyy yes I do remember your chicks, and they have matured beautifully. So good to see you @syahri!! I've missed you my friend.

Me too...😊😊😊
Maybe another month lay eggs
Hehehe

Time to eat the rooster? LOL

Ooh will they not go broody if there's no males around? I didn't know that...

Ours only went broody when our rooster Jorge was around. He got eaten (for various reasons) and then no more broody.

1st one is the best one!!
its too good!!

The farm eggs are healthy, I wish I could have chickens, it would save me a lot to buy eggs hahahaha

Aw, I wish you could keep chickens too. I hope one day you can!

Of course the chickens are bitches.. they're female..

And you're trying to eat their kids... SAVAGE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66