#ulog 25! Today's Treats on the Ol' Homestead

in #ulog6 years ago

Heh heh heh...

Photo on 2018-08-26 at 3.09 PM #2.jpg

You Like That?

Well there's plenty more where that came from kiddos. Get ready for an abundance of tasty homestead delights and shameless selfies. All fresh picked for you today!

Photo on 2018-08-26 at 3.08 PM.jpg

Fun Fact: It's always 4:20 somewhere.

Ugh...egg washing day...

Photo on 2018-08-26 at 3.10 PM #4.jpg

I know we've discussed it before #STEEM Fam, how obnoxious it is to wash eggs, and only North Americans expect eggs to be spotless, shining and clean.

IMG_9884.JPG

If I want to sell them here I have to wash them, and then immediately refrigerate, as washing takes off the egg's natural coating that keeps bacteria out. I never wash the ones we keep for our family, I enjoy a bit of fluffy-butt feather on my egg shell, it's cute.

Screen Shot 2018-08-26 at 10.28.30 PM.png

Such a lovely variety of colours our girls lay eh?

The Harvest of the Day

fullsizeoutput_3326.jpeg

Enough green beans for several meals. I've frozen a lot of them this year too, nothing better than a taste of the garden in the winter, I use them in soups and stews mainly. They actually have flavour unlike store bought frozen green beans.

IMG_9876.JPG

Zucchini. What one do you think will taste better? I find smaller fruits and veg are always more tasty.

IMG_9875.JPG

Tomatoes. People ask if I ever make sauces, man it's hard to grow enough tomatoes to make sauce, especially in our house, this plate of tomatoes would be lucky to last the day. We go through them like crazy, just fresh, as snacks when you walk by. I grow tomatillos too, and thankfully no one eats them raw so we can at least get off a batch of salsa using those.

IMG_9879.JPG

Baby Potatoes. I just dug out a few for fun, looks like the potato patch, though small, is a healthy one.

IMG_9878.JPG

Ground Cherries. I'm still not sure how I feel about these things...sometimes they taste good and other times they taste pretty weird. Just decide what you are ground cherry!! Are you a sweet fruit, or are you tomato? Whatever, it's fun to peel them at least.

Saving Seeds

Photo on 2018-08-26 at 3.10 PM.jpg

Poppy and Pea seeds finally dry enough to store. I let them dry on their plants outside, then harvested the seeds and let them dry in some egg cartons for about a week.

Photo on 2018-08-26 at 3.09 PM #5.jpg

fullsizeoutput_3327.jpeg

Not a bad haul eh?

IMG_9874.JPG

I'll Leave You All With This Cuteness...

When I was harvesting the pea seeds on the deck a few rolled into cracks in the deck...well...we had some rain and...

IMG_9890.JPG

Be. This. Guy.

Sort:  

IMG_9890.JPG

Haha! Whoop! Whoop!! 🎉🤸‍♀️🎊🎈🎶🍻

Awww @allseeingewe, you noticed that little sprouting guy...I didn't write about him in the post...I'm soooooooooooooooo happy seeing this!!! I will keep you posted on if he goes green!

I wanna eat his little face. He tewe cute.

Wow, @LindsayBowes! Those look amazing! I was just in my yarden today planting some okra! I will make a post of that soon, too.

Does okra grow well here? Hmmmm. I may have to try that...

I'm not sure if it does yet or not, @phoenixwren, but it seemed like a good one to try, so I started two large tubs to grow them in!

Awesome! I'm so happy to hear you have a yarden :) hehehe! I'll be on the lookout for your post!

I was so lucky that some of my good friends who have Taurean suns came to help me with this. I'm like, "Hi, I'm a kite in a body. What do I do with this?" lol

I will post on this soon. Need to make a video from the stuff.

Awesome harvest, Lyndsay! I love the little veggies. To me, they do have a better flavour, a sweetness. I have yet to make a large batch of tomato sauce and just one small batch of salsa. The guys here eat them faster off the plants than I can collect them. Won't people buy eggs unless they are washed? I like my eggs just the way the Creator intended. Fresh from the bird, feathers and all. Fresh veggies are so much better than frozen or canned. I haven't quite got the four seasons growing down yet and a lot depends on our weather, but almost made it last year but we are too dry in our rainy season this year.

Won't people buy eggs unless they are washed?

For new (ish) customers I always wash them, and once we get on familiar terms with each other I tell them the TRUTH about eggs, washing, and how the rest of the world rolls. I have one family who now wants them unwashed because of our conversations.

The guys here eat them faster off the plants than I can collect them.

Bless them! hahah!! Less picking work for Mama Ceci!

I couldn't imagine how hard it would be to learn how to grow all year around in a completely different climate than you grew up in. Major experimenting would happen!

It is continual experimentation. Our soil is mostly sandy with rocks. So we have been slowly building up so things will grow...

The little tomatoes are amazing snacks for sure!

Abundance party!!!
^o^/ I wish I knew what it was like to own chickens, unfortunately that dream was swept up rather quickly, but recovering and at least we have the veggies.

So I msged you about some sort of previous brave act of mine before my life fell into shambles and I needed to focus on the momming and the surviving.

But seriously read that last bit on the affidavit.

He unfortunately missunderstood that I meant that, this world belongs to the creator and its wrong to take a home from a family who lost it due to having to be on sick leave and not getting EI in time, then to steal it again from the second family renting it hoping to have raised their kids their through a rent to own deal....
but its close enough and its on record.

Dang well ~ those were crazy days back in 2014

affitlol.jpg

Really hoping we can all unite for a healing wave now that I finally have space to work in peace again.

Missing hanging out with you all in the digiphere.
Wishing you all the best,
"SONIA"

LOL

Aww, I didn't let your name slip haha I was being very careful,, but now that I know you're cool with it, be prepared for a lot of Sonia's <3 <3 <3 Love you so much Sister. I pray for peace, ease and comfort in your life. And chickens!!! #everyoneneedssomechickenbitchez

XD That's quite fine. lol

So I apologized to Wael for my stupidity, but writing my article this AM I am feeling Sick to my stomac to discover this story:
https://www.cbsnews.com/news/trump-sells-qatar-12-billion-arms-days-after-accusing-it-of-funding-terrorism/

Apparently they have sold to over 90 some fucking countries now?
I'm going to get really trippy hippy spiritual shit here soon, because Its needed...and if we're facing this kind of stupidity the whole "weird" me has to come out of the closet.

I really wish Rob would talk to me again, because he and his friends are a key healer branch to our "MMO" IRL network...
but things are as they are.

Holy shit, it was bliss being ignorant but I want to throw up right now learning all these "summer" missed updates.

Can't we just have a safe world for all kids?

It's good to let yourself just break down and cry once in a while, don't let the shit pile up. Yes, the world is getting worse, it's up to us all to try and change it. You are Needed!

Since we're fighting the same group from space jam...
mr-swackhammer-space-jam-6.89.jpg

I'll be right over! Those look yummy!

You and me both!!! Yummy!!!

a rich harvest, dear!;)) so cool!

I try to freeze much vegetables too) in winter it's so useful!

ground cherries?? I've seen seen them before!
so cute!

washing eggs...yeah...I know it's wrong either.
North Americans prefer cleans eggs instead of useful and fresh ones?)
is it the same that they choose to grow a lawn instead of food?) like you've said before;)

anf planting seeds in eggs boxes - yeah! very cute! they have a lot of variants of after-use)

North Americans prefer cleans eggs instead of useful and fresh ones?

Yes, it's a real lack of education. I myself only learned about the benefits of not washing farm fresh eggs 3 years ago.

I am actually very sad to tell you about how chickens live in Canada (these chickens lay the eggs we buy from the grocery stores). Here we have factory farming. The chickens are in tiny cages, 6 birds to a cage, and they have entire buildings full of these cages. The chickens only live there until they are 18 months old, and then they are considered 'expired'.

yes, we have the same here..
awful conditions for chickens and other animals in the animal farms that are a part of big meat business

It's Deffo Nom!! Nom!! Nom!! Nature at Lyndsay's Yarden Homestead... Made to make your mouth water.

Thank you BlackholeBridger! When are you going to post some of your music on your blog? <3 <3 <3

How wonderful @lyndsaybowes, you have your own planting. I congratulate you, it's the best you can do.

No Doubt There's More produce isabelpena to come from Lyndsay's Yarden Homestead.

What a harvest!!

I also prefer the smaller fruit, especially when it's zucchini or cucumbers. I like when they are still hard and crunchy. I also read somewhere that younger veggies are healthier than the older ones. They actually compared it to people, lol.

Oh, potatoes! Fellow starch babe! You know, we came to Slovakia over the weekend and my husband helped harvesting the potatoes. In total there were 25 rows and they got around 50 bags of potatoes. I need to check how big are these bags in liters but when you fill it in and let it stand on the ground it's about 1 meter tall.

Oh, my grandma planted ground cherries for ages without knowing that you can eat them, lol. She would never open the thing and just let it dry and used it as a table decoration with some dried flowers in the autumn.

Thank you for sharing Lyndsay!

I like when they are still hard and crunchy.

Yesss, so good in salads!

Hearing about your potato harvest success has me smiling so much, good work everyone! How long will it take you all to eat them?

Hilarious story about your Grandma! Bless her heart! :) What a beautiful table that would have been though...how creative of her to use the cherries as decorations.

They will last until April next year but my uncle also use them to feed the pigs. Actually you can't keep them much longer as then they are not that tasty anymore.

Oh yeah, my family was surprised when I came from Switzerland a few years ago and told them that these cherries are being sold for so much money there, lol. But they are cute as the decoration too!

Thank you for getting back to me Lyndsay! :)

Mmm all I can say is: Lucky Pigs!

Hi @lyndsaybowes! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your post is eligible for our upvote! Thanks for your contribution, keep up the good work, and feel free to join our Discord server!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76