ULOG Entry #9: Sending A Student Back

in #ulog6 years ago

Being a teacher says it all. I mean, it’s never easy but if feels great to know that someone wants to learn from you. I’ve been an English tutor for 8 years and counting. I love what I do. My patience have been tested althroughout and I can’t believe I managed. Knowing that I can be a hot-tempered person sometimes.

For the past year, I worked in an establishment. It’s an offline school. Though it wasn’t my first time dealing with students face to face, it was a different setting. I was teaching in a school with books, pencils, whiteboard and markers. I never saw this coming to me one day.

One of my closest students was a teenager. He’s a Japanese. He enrolled when he was 14. We celebrated his birthday and gave him a balloon. He turned 15 here in Cebu, Philippines. As what I can see from him, he adored the people in here, mostly the teachers. He often sends me a text telling me how much he misses me. He’s a kid with a very kind heart. He jokes around, learn new things. He simply has something to offer everytime. He practically lived alone for his entire stay but we sometimes visits him and eats with him. He only have few Japanese friends here as to he prefers being with Filipino teachers. Ofcourse, he had to explore the locals


BBA13052-22B0-49F2-AC0E-89FFC4560009.jpeg
On his 6th month, he has to leave. Now, we’re throwing him a farewell dinner. All I heard from him was a big “thank you”. He appreciates everything. I gave him dried mangoes and a bag of chips because he’s flying back to Japan with his mom 2 days from now. The teachers were very happy that he has improved a lot. He used to stutter so much in talking. I remember, he barely makes up a single word.


82F75729-EAAC-4F7F-9DE6-C9F59ED6EED1.jpeg
To you kiddo, study harder than before. You’ve come a long way. You were a great student, and a very generous one indeed. I wish you all the best. We’re going to visit you real soon, for sure. Have a safe trip!


Photo taken in Yakski, IT Park Apas Lahug, Cebu


Lovelots,
MAI💕

Sort:  

Mga guro na dapat sinasaludohan. I salute u ma'am.👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94