Ulog #01 - How we got my brother married.

in #ulog6 years ago


What's up guys, it's my first Ulog!


Exactly a month from today, we got my immediate elder brother married. It was an epic, and mind-blowing ceremony. I've not had the opportunity to share or upload shots from the epochal event until @surpassinggoogle came up with the @ulogs idea. The frenzy about the #ulog hashtag excitement is epic and real and I don't want to be left out of it.


Hey, Ulog! - I don't want this to end!!


There we go...

Have you ever seen a typical Nigerian wedding? Now I'm talking to non Nigerians, westerners and the likes. There ceremonies and vibes involved is amazing. A typical Nigerian wedding isn't a rush, it's not what you wake up today and do tomorrow, it's not a fast one.

The Planning...

A whole lot goes into planning a typical Nigerian wedding. A whole lot of funds (depending on the financial capability of those involved), a whole lot of opinions and meetings, and of course, journeys by friends and loved ones from far and near. Our experience wasn't anything short of the aforementioned.

There's usually a "Traditional Marriage"

(

You can't take away the frenzies attached to a trad wedding in this part of the world. It's usually a meetup of cultures. Cultural values of both families are being portrayed and celebrated. How about the dowry payments, the music, the dance and the 'dobales". Dobale is a Yoruba word for bowing/lying on the ground, it is usually a show of respect by the groom to the family of the bride. It is usually done when the bride is from the Yoruba speaking part of Nigeria. A couple of other tribes do bow, but it is more common with the Yorubas.


Guess what! I was his best-man!!


IMG_9266.JPG


Brides' maide of honor and I!!

IMG_9272.JPG
Isn't she gorgeous and beautiful?


My family...came through!!

IMG_9217.JPG
From left, my dad, my brother, my mum, moi, my uncle and my aunt!!


Here comes the swange dance

IMG_9251.JPG
The swange dance is a traditional dance from the Tiv tribe of Benue State Nigeria. Benue state is my earthly state of origin...so we imported the dancers all the way from Benue State to Oyo State, Ibadan...two states far apart...yeah!!!


An awesome brother/friend of mine, Ken came through!!

IMG_9246.JPG
Thanks a million Ken for coming. This guy is an awesome personality. I'll be doing a post in his honor soon.


The Groomsmen...

IMG_9214.JPG

From left to right: Me, A.Y and Lekan!!


...and my #ulog for today stops here...drops pen!!


Get to know more about Ulog here. There are guidelines as to how you can structure your Ulogs in this post as well in the link. Follow @ulogs @surpassinggoogle and @steemgigs for more details.


Be on the lookout for my next ulog!



ULOG.png
</center

Regards,
@marpemusic
[MuSiCThatGodInhabits]

Witness You Can Support

Please click here and type in "steemgigs" into the first search box, to vote!
Also try these amazing portion of the SteemGigs website today: https://steemgigs.org/surpassing-google

Sort:  

Congratulations on your brother's wedding @marpemusic

@yaanipaveji thanks a million sir...I'm honored at the support you show. God bless you richly!!!

Congratulations to your brother. God bless his home.

Thanks a million @winningman I'm honored...and I say AMEN 🙏🏼 TO YOUR PRAYERS!!!

Congratulations to your family. When a family grows, wonderful new relationships begin to form. May life bring your brother and his wife an abundance of joy.

AMEN 🙏🏼 TO YOUR PRAYERS!


When family grows, wonderful new relationships begin to form.

Profound!

Thank you for sharing this post about your brothers wedding. I have never seen a Nigerian wedding before. It is fascinating. May your brother and his wife have a blessed marriage.

@luxcity, amen 🙏🏼 to your prayers!!!


Nigerian wedding in my opinion is the most exciting and entertaining, you need to see one soon...you'll be blown away I trust!


Kind regards.

Congratulations for your brother. I am happy for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55