Ulog Reflections: Why to keep Steeming in a Bear market

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Last time I bought Steem was when it was priced at $1.50 and I converted some of my shit coins and some extra money I had and bought some Steem. Half I powered up and half I traded whenever Steem rose.

Currently, Steem is at $1.30 USD and SBD is at $1.05. So it finally happened SBD is at pegged and some of the witnesses have reported having removed their biases.

With the low prices, you would have noticed that your vote value has significantly been reduced. Last January my 100% upvote would be worth around 51 cents. now with almost doubled Steem power my 100% upvote is worth 14 cents. More than a half of the value went down.

Everything has gone done from upvote worth value, rewards and, even engagement.

self image.jpg

Everything seems bleak and sad for Steemians and Ned powering down 50% of his Steem power made speculations that Steemit has finally failed.

So why am I saying that we should keep Steeming?

There are fewer people posting

Engagement is down because there are fewer people posting and commenting. My own numbers in Asher's League of Engagement went down even with all the comments and replies that I have done because the usual people that I interact with are not posting nor commenting.

You could take it negatively or like me think that with fewer people posting then you have a better chance of getting your post seen.

If you are someone who posts good quality posts then Curie will surely come knocking on your door. Just look at my Comedy Open Mic entry Comedy Open Mic Comedy Contest - Round 18 | When you are caught cheating

I was pleasantly surprised to see it curie there through the @c-squared initiative, which is another awesome thing that is happening in the platform.

Curation Rewards

image.png

Not that I was in the top ten but I was still happy to be in the top 30 out of almost 200 people. Even with the bear market, I have seen my curation rewards increase. It could be because I spread out a lot of my votes to good communities or it could be because I am getting better at curating. Hopefully, it is the second!

Dept Ratio and Steem earning

Have you noticed that lately when you receive rewards you get SBD, Steem and Steem Power? Well, I have and this is because of the debt ratio.

The Debt Ratio currently is 4% and this means that when SBD and Steem prices drop we get more Steem in our rewards.

@Eonwarped has a better explanation on it https://steemit.com/steem/@eonwarped/sbd-printing-code-walkthrough

So more of my author rewards are going into Steem and Steem Power which makes it optimal for me to keep powering up and reach my SP goal.

I try my best to still publish at least once a day but most of the time I can do twice a day! The rate that I amass SP has been so fast during this month.

Condensers and Apps

Even with this bear market, Steem has been steadily creating new condensers enabling us to be in the Steem Blockchain in a variety of different ways.

Dlive has becoming better, We now have a Wordpress Plug in made by Steempress and one of the most exciting projects that I see is @steemmonsters.

It really appeals to me as a gamer and a writer because I get to be a part of creating something big. Imagine Magic The Gathering meets Crypto Kitties and all in a blockchain that can fully support it!

Here is my little explanation on what it is.

Steem Monsters | My trip down the Rabbit Hole

We also now have a new condenser for Ulogs.org which is a project by @surpassinggoogle to keep people motivated and steeming.

e10r8qt004.jpg

PM_line_2.png

So there are some of my reasons on why I am still here and still Steeming, commenting, engaging and being involved in projects.

I have given a lot of my time, effort and some fiat just to see it fail. I still believe in the power of Steem and want to see it succeed.

So don't give up and keep Steeming. If you go back to Facebook and Instagram you don't get anything but vanity points that someone liked your post.

Sort:  

Nice contributions
There is always inflation and deflation in the price level of cryptocurrencies

Thanks for sharing

Thank you Thompson,

Indeed there will be always inflation and deflation so we have to grit through it and just soldier on!

We can't give up.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I do not know why everyone is going crazy with the steem price this days.

When I just started in steemit, the price did not exceed $ 1 and for me that's the best thing in the world, and it still is!

Obviously if the price rises it is better for all, but they are cycles that the cryptocurrencies do, we need that it returns to lower so that more investors enter.

And remember: do not give up, it's not all about money!

Steem on my friend <3

I know malos! People are so disheartened because they experienced the high time last November till early week of January and not we are in a cycle of the down market or bear market.

It is those people that see the value of Steem even during this months that when it starts to rise again will have a better influence in the platform.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Oh @maverickinvictus we will be here even when the peg drops and sbd does a free fall. There's so much to do and I am having too much fun to want to leave.

I can postulate that those who can afford to step away from steemit at this time besides those who actually have credible reasons are those who are not committed to a particular community in the sense of support, engagement and participation. If for instance you are a moderator or an admin, you are going no where.

@steemmonsters is awesome and I was happy to learn on @exyle clog today that some other cryptos are getting into it. That is good news for the steem blockchain. I am happy.

Oh yeah that is true Warpedpoetic and I am happy to see you keep Steeming!

It is those that really invested here not just monetarily but also in human connections and relationships that see that there is more to Steem than the earnings.

Yes I also believe that by opening it to other cryptos and now account creation is also part of the package that it will definitely blow up and create a lot more users!

I will not be surprised if this does what Cryptokitties did for Etherium and the good thing is the Steem Blockchain can handle the traffic and the transactions!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Yeah I heard cryptokitties caused a traffic jam on etherum. Steem is made for such events. I am hoping and believing.

I am steemit loyalty no matter what! Thanks for info @marevickinvictus.

Thank you we can all use the vote of confidence in the Steem Platform.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you very much sir.

Thank you as well.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

keep doing, where i live literally steemit its my best choice to work, i receive more money here than in a monthly paid work (5$ per month in a work, pretty shitty huh?) so, expend my time here its more paid than a work, and doing my music here receives a lot of love of people around the world, i dont think steemit's going to a hole, i think its only a cicle and the best choice that we can don its to support each other.

Thanks for shedding more light on this too, I was just discussing with a fellow Steemian while the "New" " Hot" ain't showing new post everytime I refresh it. He told me blankly that people ain't posting anymore, confessing to me that it's been days that she blooged on Steemit.
And ned powering down, oh my, that's like adding salt to the injury.

Yeah it would be expected especially with the down market but rather than being discouraged I feel it is more advantageous to keep posting.

We get more SP now from what I can see on my records so its is awesome in the long run.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Now that you mention it.... Yes, I do get a larger portion of the rewards in Steem an SP now! I knew that with prices down you get more coins, so it's the perfect time to buy-in and to keep posting (more), but this is a very welcome extra reason for the posting part of that advice!! :-) Thanks do much for that, @maverickinvictus! Heading to @Eonwarped now...

This is a great opportunity to keep posting and if you get curie votes because you have awesome content then that would increase the Steem power holdings that you have.

Anything technical or math related revert to Eon hahhaha.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Vanity points and ego boost. Haha.

Anyways, I didn't know about Ned powering down. 😢 (He didn't text me) Haha. I hope Steemit will bounce back again. If there are still people like us who believes in it. Its too early to say it failed.

The party is just getting started. Let's just prepare our 🍾🥂 to celebrate when the price goes up again.

By the way, I'm close to 60 reputation. I'm not sure if you remember but this was one of my goal in your #maverickboard contest. Hehe.

Hahahha yeah Ned surprised everyone with that move yet majority of people think there is a reason for it because of the timing with SMT and all the github updates.

The people in the SMT telegram group where we can see Ned are still okay.

We just got to keep steeming and posting. Getting curation rewards and post rewards :)

I remember I made a revisit post on the maverickboard and how I was able to meet a lot of my targets already :)

I hope that you were able to do as well and if you create one tag me as I would love to read about it :)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I have only spent 6 months in this platform and I havent experienced a high payout yet. But I am positive that everything will be ok. I agree with the facebook/IG thingy hahaha but we cant blame them all we have to do is to educate them. And this #ulog really changed the game, it brought back the interest of those steemians who were already losing hope.

I agree with Ulog being a way to make sure that people are interested in posting about themselves so that they can become celebrities and have their fans.

It is about encouraging them to create their own posts and not plagiarize.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62