Enjoy your sulfites

in #ulog6 years ago
I'm sitting with a friend, one of those friends with higher financial means that me of course, and he shares with me that he normally does not drink. Not beer, because it's vulgar, not liquor, because he's a busy man, and thus can't get into those habits. But when he drinks, he goes for a special kind of wine.



img src

"Wine?" I reply "I love wine, I think we have some at home every night, it's excellent for digestion I've heard and for the heart". He gives me one of those looks, the kind that you know has enough judgment to slow down any enthusiasm you might have been broadcasting.

"Do you know about wine? The good stuff?" he says as he gets up to walk towards his fancy wine rack. "Well... I know I like it, that's about it... but, I've developed some preferences over the years". Without hesitation he remarks with no filter "I'm sure you've only had grocery store garbage... I'm sure".

Now, as someone who has swam these waters before, I know not to react. It's not personal, it's for lack of a better way to describe it: Social Ineptness. Because anyone who has both feet grounded in reality could, or at least should be able to calculate the weight of such remark. He proceeds.

"You see, wine is not supposed to be sweet, not red wine, its supposed to have a dry sensation, and it must come from the right type of grape" He continues, I'm just staring attempting to hide the one eyebrow that is completely unimpressed - "The way they make those, the ones you buy at grocery stores, those are just rubbish, full of sulfites, that is what you are tasting sulfites...."

At this point I had enough, I don't want to continue the "fi fi fi" talk as I find it as productive as counting grains of sand. I paused and jammed a stick in the conversational spokes....

"I think that's it... I love sulfites..."

Sort:  

That's me. But sometimes it's white.

hahahahahha

You should have asked him, Do you like smelling your own farts?
pQF9z.jpg

hahahahah that is crazy!!!

Haha, hooray for southpark!

that is... that should not be possible. just... no.

Hehe, sniff sniff.

Me encantó tu respuesta... única y especial, llena de naturalidad y sencillez jajaj

Again...
THANK YOU!

"I'm sure you've only had grocery store garbage... I'm sure".

I didn't mean it like that Meno...

IRL

la abuelita... that walker is hers!!! hahahahaha

i would not be as polite. i might point out how what he says is a trifle condescending.. how does he explain port? port wine is naturally sweet because they stop the fermentation process earlier to get more of the natural sweetness. not because of sulfites which occur naturally. sulfite free wine is organic, and yes it costs a bit more. but the top labels still have sulfites in them, both natural and added.

some people with money like to fart using a parabolic antenna , that is all really...

lol i love your description of that...

You can choose your friends.....

Lovely! A friend told me once that she thought red wine was called £2.99.

You won't find any sulfites in any of my wines, I don't kill the yeast, I let it die of alcohol poisoning, like a wine yeast should. I will say, it takes a bit of extra sugar to feed the yeast to the point that it makes so much alcohol that it dies from it. I have some apple mead that has about 16-18 percent alcohol by natural fermentation. That's due to a specific wine yeast and a lot of honey in with the apple juice when you ferment it.
Also, I'm a barbarian, I almost never make wine from grapes, it turns out much too dry for my tastes.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55