So I quit coffee and this is day 4

in #ulog6 years ago
I have to say, it's been a bit of struggle so far, but not because of the common reasons people experience. Before doing this of course, I read a bit, I wanted to know if I'm going to have crazy withdrawal or something. After all, this would not be the first big think I quit, since I used to smoke back in the day, but just like smoking, I felt like I had to quit.



img src

We love the magic beans


Coffee today is ingrained in our culture, and because of this, nobody sees it like a problem. Funnily enough, there are languages that use the phrase "drinking coffee" as replacement for breakfast, or morning snack. Without a doubt, for most of us coffee is just part of life, and I'm no exception.

I've been drinking coffee for as long as I can remember. My grandmother had always drank her coffee black, just with some sugar, and for some reason I gravitated towards the bitter flavor over and over as a kid. When I "grew" up, I simply upped the intake, instead of taking a few sips of her coffee, I had my own cups, life was good, and coffee remained magical.

The milk and the sugar


This is the main problem for most, but it's not a problem until your years start catching up with you. In other words, just like everyone in the world possibly, my twenties were filled with cappuccinos, lattes of some sort or another, and the classical "cafecito con leche".

As time went by, and the effects of caffeine were not as noticeable, I found myself drinking 3,4 and sometimes 5 cups in a day, just to feel awake. Maybe the problem was not so much the coffee itself, but the addition of creamers and sugars. You are literally overdosing on sugar everyday and wrongfully think coffee is the one keeping you up sometimes. So, I did exactly what I had to do, and trained myself to drink it black.

Make it kick you in the chest


Since I don't struggle much with bitter flavors, it did not take long for me to get used to it and love it. Yes, black coffee, no sugar, no creamer, nothing. I've been drinking it like this for a decade now and feeling quite happy about it. But lately it started to get out of hand.

In the past 3 months, I've been drinking 8 cups or more per day. Yes, it's nowhere near a lethal dose, but it had become my replacement for a cup of water and that can't be good. In the back of my mind I'm thinking; "Well, coffee has water in it... all good", but of course I do know better.

Last week my body finally issued an invoice, and I've been having some malfunctions regarding my renal system. Suffice to say, it's not been fun, and I'm not happy about it at all, so I decided to go cold turkey on this whole thing. No more coffee, 8 cups of water a day minimum.

This is precisely where I am at the moment, four days in, trying to figure out, why my head hurts so bad and being completely annoyed at the moment, but also realizing that this is good, in the long run, it's good.

I do feel, I've lost some mental agility these days, and that I need to sleep more, but it could also just be my mind playing tricks on me. Who knows? but as the cliche saying goes...

"One step at a time"

Sort:  

I was thinking of quitting, but then I started eating pomegranate before bed. I should still quit. Watermelon helps too. Do a watermelon fast for a day.

Can a person overdoes from lack of caffein?

This is madness @meno. No coffee? No way.

On the other hand, I've seen people suffer for days while trying to pass a kidney stone. That experience might change my tune.

Posted using Partiko Android

It does change everything, no exaggeration

Posted using Partiko Android

Good luck with this! If I miss my morning coffee, I start to get the worst headache... not I'm not sure if it is just in my head (ha ha...) or not, but I find I can't go without! On the plus side, I now am down to two cups a day... or three... which is a nice drop from the 8 or so of my earlier life!

i got a migrane atm, but im pummeling thru it...

howdy sir meno! well I salute you for your courage in going cold turkey, that's brutal but a very direct way to tackle it, much success to you in this fight!

@ meno I really hope you are OK. I don't know what renal problems you are having, but please take care of yourself. Your health is the most important thing that you have. I was going to just joke about coffee because I roast and drink a lot but........ The caffeine headaches are so bad sorry. Take care brother..... :)

I'll be alright, taking some medicine, everything should be good, but its still scary...

That sounds good, have you tried decaf? Maybe later........

Woow, no coffee!!! While I do understand the reasoning behind it, I do stick with it!
The caffeine doesn’t keep me awake.
Can sleep like a baby after a cup of coffee! I did try to decrease the sugar and milk bit failed miserably!
Much of strength!
Cheers,
Peter

Hi @meno.I took sugar out my diet years ago, but coffee remains. I only have one or two per day so it isn't a problem. Nothing seems good for you these days and I am literally banned from green tea which I thought was good for you.

I was also an addict to black coffee until that shit started messing with my urinary tract, now I lowerd the intake to 1-2 small cups per week and started drinking water like a thirsty dog. Coffee is good but nothing in excess you know.

Good luck @meno, I'm down to one cup of black coffee a day and am just about ready to take the leap to no cup of black coffee a day. Keep us posted if it gets better :)

im sure i'll share more on the subject... hahahah but so far, not fun.

if it has no caffeine I guess its fair game.

it contains natural caffeine do i don't know if that helps or not :/

You can try Chamomile that is definitely don't contain any caffeine at all, it calms you and it's good for stomach pains!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98