Vintage Studio Gear ftw?

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I won't lie, I'm a little excited today, but I don't know exactly how it's going to go down. A good friend told me he is selling all of his gear todays, that he is moving away. Funny, it's almost as if we came to some sort of mental alignment, I dunno. (We are also moving) But, here is the deal. My friend is sound eng. in his 80's.



So, I'm getting ready to walk into a warehouse full of toys, but they are all vintage toys, all of them. Why am I excited? Because of reasons beyond logic of course. Now, I'm not saying I intend to keep any of this for muhself, of course not, I can't afford it. But, I get to test them out before placing them on the e of the bay. And THAT is fun.

You have to be a gear junkie like me to understand what this means, and I would not blame you if you thought I'm getting excited about playing with outdated garbage. However, many of the music that everyone loves and many of the standards, the sonic standards were built on top of these little guys. So, maybe, just maybe, you like them too, you just had no idea.

I suspect there is not enough steemians, active steemians that would be interested in such things, so there is almost no reason for me to try steembay on these. But, from the money I make selling these puppies, I intend to buy some SP, because Why not? It's accumulation zone, remember?

Anyways, my little treasure hunt is going to keep me semi-away for most of the day, but I should return in the evening with a possible update, some missing monies and a ninja plan that may or may not work. But, such is the way of the survival ninja.

Later my friends.

@meno

Sort:  

This is going to be a top post. Get some pictures on here please...I'm thinking DX7 and 21, Roland Tr505, maybe a bit further back, minimoog...boss pedals,huge echo chambers....VU meters with proper lights !!!.....and lots of analog knobs to twiddle with.
Looking forward to the next post fella :-)

oh... i took some, i will share tonight or tomorrow morning.

:)

old gear have very high quality. but drawbacks are with "ranges". they are easy to work with so thats a plus. you should be excited, cos these things are like servers for geeks haha
put those bad boys to good use! would like to see the collection.

i'll share some pics of them tomorrow.. :)

send me a compressor

Pechi, tu celu?

robado :( .. igual no paso nada.. pero toy incomunicado

I'm a fan of vintage recording equipment, I have a dbx 163 here in my studio plus a tube preamp, an 80's ART SGX Studio Edition analog effect rack that I got for a low cost, a Tascam 32 reel to reel recorder and I recently bought an 70's analog 8-channel console with patchbay to connect all these effects processors.

097e4e7c-24ae-411e-a182-8ba73fa6a7d9.jpg

just check this little bad boy out

It's ironic when we see people saying that these equipments are obsolete but after they buy their sophisticated things we see them using reel emulators, compressor emulator, tube emulator, etc.

You can have the best of both worlds, for example I plan to build my studio using the analog console as the main instrument/vocal input, it has an equalizer and gain control which makes the premix much easier, after that the effect processors and the console gives me the ease of sending a direct mix to the reel-to-reel recorder while simultaneously sending the 8 independent channels to their respective 8 independent digital recording channels of my digimax D8 connected to the computer via ADAT and recording all the processed audio previously with the analog processes in pro tools at 48 sample rate.

the great thing about all this is that most of these teams have found them at very low cost in sales of used equipment or exchanges of musical instruments on the web, I have been lucky with many of these devices but I still have a long way to go , I'm determined that I will do everything old school.

rack.jpg

Oh man.. you would go crazy in here...

Such a fun project. It is amazing at how expensive some of this older equipment was.

Ooh, vintage gear! I'd like to hear more about it if you feel like writing it up! I've only ever used vintage gear in emulation, which is to say not at all. But the emulations have inspired respect for the analogue items they're purported to emulate!

I've used the plugins plenty of times, but the difference is brutal imo.

Dude that's so awesome, great looking compressor. Working on getting an outboard gear set up is definitely on my bucket list. I've been so exclusively software-based, I can't wait to be in a position where I can look at some physical hardware!

dooood... i dont even know what some of those puppies do.

Hahaha that means you're getting the good stuff bro.

Sounds like fun! Bring me something!

I still have a lot of things to sell in my house to put the fiat i earned into the crypto market...

I suspect there is not enough steemians, active steemians that would be interested in such things

I never tried steembay, what sort of things do you consider to be good enough to sell there?

A nearby newly built recording studio is still buying vintage gear to add to their collection. He combines the best of analog and digital recording but then went a step further and started buying vintage amps, guitars, keyboards etc. He doesn't claim the vintage stuff is better; it's different, and also the easiest way to get that vintage sound. If you like old gear, here is a video showing the extent of what he keeps around. You won't understand what they are saying, but the images say enough. https://www.facebook.com/ExpeditieOost/videos/320904721785430/?fref=mentions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95