ULOG # 11: My Belt Challenge - A Diy Project

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

MY BELT CHALLENGE

There is always a commotion in the city when the summer sale begins around first week of June every year. All stores offered their goods to their customers for sale at reduced prices. They have very affordable fashion wear with almost 80% off their regular tag prices just to get rid of their stocks and clear their warehouses for the next season´s fashion. I have discovered a shop that put on an after sale when the sale season ended. These belts came in different designs and some were leather, prices of which were just a fraction of each origina cost…almost give-always sort of. But, it seemed nobody wanted them because the belt rack was still full of those belts, it was perhaps the length of the belts that were simply too long that prevented the women from buying them !!!

with the leather belt (1).jpg

a1.jpg

I am featuring here the ones I got from that sale. I knew that they have potential and something could be done to shorten them to fit my waist. I did not want to spend so much when it comes to fashion wear. I normally do not follow the trends of the so called popular fashionistas/blogger influencers. I merely wear classic style and prefer to wear blue jeans and shirt with sneakers on free time. I love blue jeans, though at times when I go out with hubby, I tried to wear ladylike dresses with modern touch. We were six children in the family and being the only daughter, I trailed my brother wherever they went. In our teenage times, I have likened to wear blue jeans and white shirts just because my brothers wore them. It was kind of pretty cool to belong to them as kids from the block.

with the leather belt (2).jpg
Me in my former office wearing the center belt featured above

Call it whatever you want, but it´s the frugality in me that got me challenged to buy the quality belts. I am a crafter and I can easily adjust the belts with some simple tricks that other women were not aware about or they were just disinterested in doing the work. And since I love the belt challenge I confronted myself with, I set fort and went to a hardware store to buy the belt screws. I have the tools at home and got excited soon as my materials and tools were completed.

s-l300.jpg
Belt screw type I used for this challenge and you can find the source here

So here´s what I did … I opened the thread (those belts that were fixed by a thread) sewn to fix the belt in place… cut the leather on the buckle part and made it shorter. Then I made new hole by hammering a very big nail so I could insert the belt screw. Making the hole bigger to fit the rounder screw was just the tricky part, but the nail was big enough to handle the hole. And so, I got my set of various modern and fashionable belts that are in a way still classic but modern in style.

a3.jpg

a5.jpg

a7.jpg

a6.jpg

Just as simple trick as that and I have many belts to choose from that cost me a fraction of its original price.

a2.jpg

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by
linking the URL of this post in your content.

Enjoy your Sunday !!!

Footer.gif

GIF by @gremayo

Make @surpassinggoogle your witness by voting steemgigs here.
Type "steemgigs" into the 1st box. Or if you like.... make Terry your proxy by voting surpassinggoogle on the 2nd box. As your proxy, Terry will make the voting decisions for you.

Sort:  

That was an amazing idea since you were able to transform all the belts and fitted them yourself according to your size.. You saves much money that you can use for other things and being frugal is simply good for your hard earned money.

Indeed I saved a lot from this project and I had fun too. Thanks for coming.

Super idea! I think my wife will love your helpful hints, thanks for giving this to us.

I hope so too that she will like this idea. thank you.

This is an amazing idea. I will take a look if I can see some at such sale and will follow the same method of how you did it. Thanks for the idea!

You are welcome! Thanks for your lovely comments, I am sure you will find good fashion accessories too like these belts, so keep on looking particularly if the sale season will be nearing its end.

Super like the idea . It saves money and you can do any adjustment on your own:) Nice post mam @mers!!

Indeed Regine... With the small cost spent for each belt you can use the rest of your money on something else. Thank you

A crafter is always a crafter! Nice belts!

Thankies Judy... glad you lined them

Wow nice idea! Can save money.

Indeed.. thanks sis Fhe

Wow ! Great post .

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70