ULOG:

in #ulog6 years ago

ulog metzlislight metzli .png

The toys are scattered all over the floor, the dishes from last night are waiting to be put away, the 6 year old made breakfast for her Daddy.

She made oatmeal. She put a little sugar and salt in it while it cooked, and topped it off with Maple Syrup and whole Milk. She had considered making it with only salt and topping it with butter and brown sugar like her dad likes. She wanted to please him. She decided to go with the recipe that she knows. My 6 year old has a "go to" breakfast meal. I feel so proud.

She decided that today was for showing off her cooking skills. She made breakfast for her self, daddy, and brother. I keep wondering if she would have those skills if she had to go to school on a daily basis. I wonder because I've been playing the comparing game. Is her reading too slow? Is her math too behind? Mornings like this show me that everything is just right.

A child who can shower, dress, brush and style their own hair, make themselves breakfast and then entertain themselves is a rare find nowadays. Or maybe I just tell myself that to feel like a "good" parent.

I love Sundays and everything they represent. I love having a home in Alameda where I can leave toys on the floor and have a 6 year old who has been making breakfast for years. And I miss home my home in
Chula Vista. I miss laying on my mom's couch, bumping into grandma around town, gatherings at my aunties houses, the feel good of completing a week of work, or a week of school, or a something.

I keep asking myself. Am I trying to serve two masters? Or am I tweaking and changing to make exactly what works for me. This life as a writer is beautiful, but it makes me feel... behind. Like its late and you haven't showered because your words had not come out yet. And it's late and your home school projects aren't complete. Like, its late and you haven't taken the kids to the park yet. Like you can spend your life reading, writing, and running around outside.

Is that beautiful? I think it is. But oh, the feeling of being "on top of it." The feeling of it's 5pm and all your chores are done and all your boxes are checked off. The feeling of you made boxes to check of... and remembered where you put it, because everything has a place....

20180516_002249_0001.png

images and graphics created by me using canva templates. pictures used in images are mine taken with my phone. banners created by the community they represent

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Heck that's a great accomplishment mama! Way to go 6-yr old :)

That's one thing we can give our children before we pass- the ability to fend for themselves. Sure, they need to read, write and do math, the rest are bonus. But I think those 3 in terms of learning academic are the most important ones to help them from being bamboozled by crooks.

I had to lay low on Steemit because the children are just growing too fast. Dishes are going to be there like they are, but our children being children will soon be adults and we won't have these moments.

So..they're doing fine. You're doing just fine..

Hey Lady, thanks for stopping by. What a treat to hear from you.

You've trained her well and she can stand on herself. She won't need you every time she need help and that's just how my mum trained me too

you are a good mama

Thank you, and congratulations to your Mama.

Hello @metzli, been a long time here, how are you doing and your family? A'm so happy to read ur post this morning. My regards to ur cute kids and ur husband.

Hey thanks for stopping by. I see you haven’t blogged in a while. I’ll happily read when you start again!

Yeah, you are greatly welcome. And it's my pleasure to see you back here. Stay shining my

Hugs, your girl is awesome. You are awesome.

A child who can shower, dress, brush and style their own hair, make themselves breakfast and then entertain themselves is a rare find nowadays. Or maybe I just tell myself that to feel like a "good" parent.

Awesome! A six year old able to do all this by herself... Well trained! 👍👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98