First #ulog entry: How steemit gave me voice. From the voiceless, the unprivileged and the underrepresented.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180505_144631.jpg

I've always been an introvert. Heck if this was back in the days I couldn't have post even my palm talkless of a shirtless picture.

But why a shirtless picture you may ask. Well, it summarizes my life, past and present.

Woke up today to the #ulog tag going viral. If you are reading this and you haven't created your own ulog entry then hold on at this point. It is important that you write yours before reading this, because I am your fan.

The last line of 'I am your fan' is one of the ulog's tagline. Thanks to @surpassinggoogle for this great initiative.

I am going to tell you why this platform is a big opportunity for someone like me and many others in my shoe. But first,

My humble abode

IMG_20180225_183627(1).jpg

I grew up here and still live here. I was fortunate to have attended average primary and secondary schools, the rest, is a story for another day.

This is the northern part of Nigeria. And one of our major occupation is farming.

IMG_20180227_104722(1).jpg

Nothing like bank here you have to catch a bus to the nearest town and endure a long line for hours.

Like I wrote above, the people here are under-represented because a large percentage are just subsistence farmers and whose grandchildren would come to follow the same path because nothing is done to change their narrative at present.

And then I stumble upon steemit. A combination of efforts by some guys to spread the gospel of steemit in Nigeria. Notable among them is @destinysaid and I also read @stellabelle medium article about earning $5 daily on steemit.

Like many others I came with the mindset to earn money and I still believe steemit would change my story in the nearest future.

I have dreams so big that I am sure have they been physically active organisms, they would have swallowed me by now.

I got frustrated when I wasn't making anything the first time. But then fell in love with posts. I must admit up to this point, I enjoy reading people's blog more than writing posts myself.

I also met awesome guys, the likes of @yoo1900, who gave me my first $20 by upvoting my post.

And then there is @jbn, @ilyastarar, @yallapapi (the controversial steemit evangelist), @crownorl, @crypto2crypto and @papa-pepper.

I also genuinely enjoy reading @olawalium, @heiditravels and @tangerinetravels. Even though I have never travelled out of this country, their travel posts make me feel like I have been there, just looking at those detailed descriptions and pictures.

Back to my #ulog entry

I have been cleaning the house since morning. Washed clothes and plates. I also ironed my clothes for a special visitation tomorrow.

IMG_20180505_144631.jpg

My first time going to a church. Read my post below to have a brief idea about it.

https://steemit.com/christianity/@oladokun/from-islam-will-christianity-be-the-solution-to-my-dilemma-please-help-58bdb73c00126

After that I cooked noodles and was washing it down with coke when Nepa took light.

IMG_20180505_142424.jpg

Thanks to all for this opportunity. Special mention to @ned, @surpassinggoogle and all the members of @steemchurch for the support.

UPVOTE AND RESTEEM TO SUPPORT THIS VILLAGE BOY. THANKS.

Sort:  

We are always here to help in any way that we can. Thank you for mentioning us.

Great ulog.. its kind of amazing how quickly can you find great people on steemit (and get paid at the same time :p) i wish you the very best of luck. Regards

Thanks @jbn. You are part of the reason I remained here. I appreciate your support.

If you are on discord, rather dm me your links to your posts there as to leave it in my comments as some people might look at that as spam. What kind of church is this that you went too? Would like to hear what was your experience?

Hello, I don't understand what you mean by the link to my post. Is it a group on discord you mean, if so send me the link so I can join.

About my experience yesterday, it was great I'll say, more like introductions and some of my questions answered. It is an Anglican church.

I am on discord. So you look for me @hope777 and you send me a personal message. There you can paste the link to your post instead of pasting it in my comments. Blessings!

Hello @hope777. I checked and that isn't the correct way to add someone on discord. Check below
IMG_20180508_084225_055.jpg

Enter your profile settings and you'll see the username with the #harshtag and number added to it. Or you can just add me using mine above.

I want to say thank you for sharing part of your life, part of yourself. I appreciate it. I hope you enjoyed church.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67