#Ulog 3: I'd rather skate on ice than walk on land

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_7838.JPG

My utter adoration for my sport and love for the ice have always drove me to the point where I'd rather skate on the ice than walk on land. Today, as I write, I am sitting at the students' area, enjoying the comfortable chill that the ice brings.

My day started off waking up by 8 and getting ready to get to the rink by 10 am. As much as possible, I would like to be on ice from opening until closing, to get a run for my money. Ice time fee is not cheap at all and for 420 php plus meals, I'd rather get my money's worth. I started contemplating about how uncomfortable I am when I walk on land. I feel heavy, it's hot and humid, I don't like the bouncing sensation as you switch foot. I shared my sentiments with my fellow skaters, especially the little ones, they're so agreeable.

IMG_7834.JPG

They babbled about feeling lighter on ice and being able to lift a leg and you'd still be moving. "We can also scrape the ice and make snowmen, you can't do that on land, you could only make dirtmen." little Johanna pointed out. We always scrape the ice with out blades, it's how we stop. It's comfortably chilly in the rink as well, not the burning 32 degree heat outside.

IMG_7839.JPG

Like always, today was bustling with training and public skaters learning to skate. We are preparing for a competition in Manila soon and the pressure to bring victory back home is present at large. Though the atmosphere is a tad bit tense, we never forget to have fun, that we truly love the ice. We laugh at mistakes and falls and help each other. We're a family here and that's what I love about the ice the most. You develop bonds and you find comfort and warmth in such a cold place.

2018-05-22 18:17:13.531.jpg

Some girls want to have fins and be mermaids or have wings and fly, I want these skates permanently on my feet and the roads are made of ice. I would glide and slide and jump and spin to my heart's content! 💕

_________________

This is what life is like for me and I totally would not have it any other way! I hope you guys and enjoyed and this was written through my mobile so I apologize for some typos and such. All the love! xx 😘

Sort:  

Rare to see a Filipina figure skater.. When in Cebu and we visit the ice there it's almost all foreigners skating (including me).

I can't compare to you in skating dedication but I agree, it's a great feeling to soar over the frozen surface below you :)

I actually met a lot of Danish people in the rink! So far, they're the only Scandinavians I've seen to frequently visit Cebu.

Hi, thank you for contributing to Steemit!

I upvoted and followed you; follow back and we can help each other succeed :)

P.S.: My Recent Posts: https://steemit.com/@cryp1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90