ULOG 085 - Garden Spring Video Tour

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: ULOG 085 - Garden Spring Video Tour



It's time for a backyard spring cleaning session. This weekend we started with the BBQ area as we are using it pretty often these days. For couple of years, that area was used for my gardening stuffs and was packed with pots and seedlings etc... But this year we are reclaiming it for our own entertainment.

The barbecue area

I went to check the carrots bed, I planned to remove everything and plant something else as the carrot didn't thrive but to my surprise, I've found some nice crops and guess what, they tasted amazing! Very sweet and juicy, nothing to do with what you get from the shop!

Homegrown carrots

Cleaned up, they looked pretty nice. My son tasted one of them and got hooked. This got me thinking I should keep growing them maybe.

Tasty homegrown carrots

I trimmed the sunshine chilly which leaves were gone all yellow but I noticed some new ones sprouting out so I better save the plant's energy for the young leaves.

IMG_6639.JPG

The dwarf Tahitian lime still has some limes from the last season but has already started flowering, it's amazing how such small tree can bear that much fruits.

Flowers on a dwarf lime tree

In a previous post, I showed some pictures taken at night and you couldn't really see the whole garden so today I took some shot during the morning and also made a video.

Backyard garden beds

If I can find the time, I want to convert all those small garden beds into one made of Besser blocks, trying to make it look more tidy.

Mulberries

I think it won't take too much time until we get to taste those yummy Mulberries. There are so many fruits that the young branches are bending down. I plant my Mulberry trees in grow bags (root pouches) and I to keep them short so I trim them once or twice a year to prevent them from going wild. This is why they make a lot of young branches and it can get very dense.

Mustard greens flowers

These are some lovely mustard green flowers. The little branches you can see in the photograph are actually young pods that will be full of seeds I will harvest for propagation.

IMG_6645.JPG

I planted the dwarf Tahitian lime in a large concrete pot. It is sharing its space with the rather invasive Mexican mint but neither seem to mind their neighbour. The Mexican mint seems dead but it's just dormant and will wake up soon.

My wife also trimmed the thyme and we will use the cuttings as tea or in our cooking.

Thyme

They are covering the pot making it hard to add compost to their pot. I have to lift them up and find my way down to the surface of the soil.

Thyme in a pot

Oh my chocolate mint is loving the warmth. I planted it in a styrofoam box with a PVC pipe that goes down to the bottom. This is a self-watering planter and it works great.

Chocolate mint in a self-watering styrofoam box

I'm starting to wonder if the bigger pot in which I moved the lemon balm to will be big enough lol. They have already taken over it. Their seeds have flown around the backyard and I could see some small seedlings popping up where I don't really need them to be, I guess they are considered weeds in that location lol.

Lemon balm

Looks like I will have some more Steevia this year. I prefer having them fresh in an infusion rather than dried in powder form because they don't dissolve in water.

Steevia

The common mint is growing nicely, look at how nice they look and I haven't fed them yet. Last year I had some leaves that were about 1/3 the size of my palm that was impressive.

Nice homegrown mint

To end our Sunday, guess what we did? Yep, dinner by the rocket stove again 😅well, on the BBQ side only this time. We had some roasted sweet corn, sweet potatoes and chestnuts. We also grilled some fish and beef steak.

Sweet corn, sweet potatoe and fish on BBQ

Thanks to me cleaning up the area earlier today, we had much more space to enjoy our evening. After diner, my wife strummed on the guitar while I took the boy to bed.


Previously on my Ulog:


Vote for my witness
On Steem, Witnesses are playing the important role of providing a performant and safe network for all of us. You have the power to choose 30 trusty witnesses to package transactions and sign the blocks that will go in the Steem blockchain. Vote for me via SteemConnect to help me do more useful projects for the communities.


I'm a member ofthese communities
Team Australia BannerTeam Vietnam banner
Steemit French community bannerHomesteaders Online
Member of the SmartVote communityMinnow Support Project

Credits

  • The image at the top has been generated with the Canva app using my own photo.

Protect your money against Phishing Scam!

Cryptos accounts are the target of international scammers because they want your hard earned money!

Those people are very clever and in a moment of inattention, you've given them your login and password!

I've created a Chrome extension that can help you detecting scam links!

Install Steemed Phish Chrome desktop browser extension now!

Password and Private Keys security

You all know that your Steem password is the access to all your STEEM, SBD, posting, transferring, everything... right?
So, please, follow these simple steps and keep yourself safe:

  1. Apart from the initial setup of your account, NEVER use your password ANYWHERE, if stolen, it will give full control to your Steem account.
  2. Backup your password and keep it somewhere safe. Use a password manager like Lastpass, print it on paper and put it in a safe (no kidding). If you forget your password, no one can help you out.
  3. To login for creating content and curating, use your Private Posting Key
  4. To make transfers and account operations, use your Private Active Key
  5. To encrypt and decrypt memos, use your Private Memo Key

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great inspiration video for us, thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Chúc mừng @quochuy, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 35%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29