You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ulog 41: TGIF and Inspiration

in #ulog6 years ago

Quad Squad, checking in. You find rain inspiring? That's one way of looking at it, I suppose. I'm just grateful for the reprieve from screen glare when it's a bit cloudy outside, lol.

I'm a bit of a contrarian when it comes to inspirational stuff, to be completely honest. I find the platitudes propagated on many platforms telling people to never give up despite obviously having no real knowledge of their situation disingenuous. How do you know if I should give up or not? If I don't have the wherewithal to see something through to the end, I probably should give up earlier rather than later. Blind determination isn't always the best course of action, at least that is the way I look at it.

Of course, this mentality leads to a strange set of affairs where I find demotivational material more motivating than the motivational stuff. Stuff that specifically parodies the usual motivational message by saying something cynical or deprecating, while keeping the same scenic background. I guess it's just that the humor itself gives me a good chuckle. Poking fun at failure is kind of like poking fun at death; it removes the ominous and nebulous power that it holds over you.

Sort:  

Haha- well yes, I can completely understand about the screen glare side of things... I guess that's how I feel when I'm pottering around outside too when it's cloudy- more relaxed as my eyes aren't having to filter that glare.

I find your outlook on inspiration fascinating. I do have to agree that empty platitudes shared around whilst slobbed out in front of social media have such a wonderful irony to them... they tend to make me smirk and shudder at the same time. Equally, reading about someone who is genuinely doing something exciting that is pushing forward towards their passion can really lift me up and make me strive harder towards what I want out of life.

A good chuckle can't be beaten and there's definitely something to be said for removing that external power that the big bad can hold over you - like death, failure (or moths, in my case).

Thanks for popping in :)
E x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83