You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Talent is overrated...

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Thoughtful post @meno. Thanks for writing it.

"Like seeing someone you deemed not that talented progress a lot, simply by putting in the work. Elbow grease as some people say, sheer will."

Amen to that! All of my life, I have been around talented people. Who never amount to much of anything, as their potential is never realized. Never converted from "potential" to "kinetic" energy (from an old Physics class ...). Why is that?

The belief in oneself, the ability to pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and "get back in there" makes a world of difference. Iron-willed resolve and hard work "magically" produces results not thought possible. It is what you become, in the journey along the way, that tells the story.

Years ago, my career sat as a cross-roads of sorts. Long story how I managed to get to the second interview for a coveted position. In it, when his turn came (yes one of those "tag team" types of interviews), the CEO asked me "do you feel lucky?"

Good grief! That certainly wasn't on the list of my prepared answers. Had to wing it (not my strong suit)!

I replied that I frankly didn't believe in luck. BUT, that I could definitely say, "the harder I work, the luckier I get" ...

I got the job!

Keep up the great posting @meno!

Steemin’ along and on the move ... Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Awesome story brother... that made me smile, the perfect answer really!

you recently made a post on @jerrybanfield a month ago and I recently read it I am going to be making a response to that post @meno.

Sure... i'll be looking forward to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91