Ulog | Special calls

in #ulog6 years ago

June 7, 2011, played the "vinotinto", that is, the Venezuelan Soccer Team, against its similar from Spain. It was a bit complicated for me, because I was born in the land of the harp and the maraca, but with ancestry from that European country. To explain this I will go a few years back, specifically to 1967, when Gerardo Segovia and Ezequiela Herrero, my grandparents, came to this beautiful land and with them my father.

Certain traditions, customs and even vocabulary were kept in the family, like the traditional _ "let's go for bread" _ that I heard from my grandmother for many years; On the other hand we inherit the passion for football, the Real Madrid games, the Valladolid, as well as those of the Red Fury, we live with great intensity.

And from there comes the anecdote that I want to share today, on the date I mentioned, when the beginning of the match between the two countries I love, my phone rings, I knew who it was, grandma always called me before each important game, but this would be a different call. For the first time he would take the opposite in the team he wanted to see win.

I answer and the first thing I hear him say is: "Andrés, today we will win", in reference to the superiority of Spain, at that moment I felt a void in my stomach, with a tone of resignation, speaking very softly I only say: " Grandmother, but I'm going for Venezuela ", fortunately that was the only time we differed in a game, because I also had to lose ... Every goal was an I told you, but I really enjoyed it.

Currently, we are living the 2018 World Cup and in a few hours it will be the first match of the Spanish National Team, I know that today I will not be able to receive your call, it has been several years since the last one, but I always remember them, I even feel that the phone rings to listen to your words of encouragement, because you always had faith in victory.

Grandmother, thank you for passionate about this beautiful sport, for sharing it with me in numerous calls, for creating that family bond around a team, which already goes beyond sport, some say it is only a game, but for me it is not, they are values, they are memories, you are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75