From Rush Hour In Paris To Heaven On Earth

in #ulog5 years ago

We made it to our first stop. It took blood and sweat (no tears, for a change), but out holiday has finally started. La Douce France...

20190729_193454.jpg

Finally

This is our first real holiday in three years. We needed it so badly. But up until we arrived here, in the little village that would be our first stop, nothing was certain.
We didn't know how much my back would be able to take. And it was close... really close.


The Plan

The plan is to go and visit a friend of ours, who moved to the South of France after her breakup a couple of months ago.

But since my back is still causing me a lot of trouble, we decided to first see how it would deal with the drive. It's about 1200km to our final destination, and I really wanted to avoid getting to the South of France, only to be stuck in the van and not being able to move because of the pain.

So, we planned our first stop close to Fontainbleau - a little village we had visited a couple of times in the past. This place is thé place to be for rock climbing without ropes. Since my back won't allow rock climbing, I'll be spending my time here in the beautiful, crystal clear river - and I'm perfectly fine with that...


Passing Paris...

My back did stand the first test. Taking a break every 100km, we managed to cover the first 400km pretty smooth.

What we didn't foresee, was that we would end up on the Périphéric - the main highway - around Paris during rush hour. OMG! Those Frenchies really have a special way of driving their car. I got so tensed, my back started killing me, and by the time we had passed Paris, my back hurted so badly I couldn't go any further.

After taking a long break at the next gas station, I had to decide whether to spend the night there, and to give my back the needed rest, or to go on and cover those last 100 kilometers.
I decided on the latter, and boy, how glad I am I did...


Heaven On Earth

Rush hour had past, and we started the last part of our drive. The highway wasn't as busy anymore, so we were able to go fast again.

Once we had left the highway, I could relax again. All pain seemed to be gone when we watched that beautiful landscape around us. Nothing but fields, birds and sunshine... So amazing... I felt FREE, for the first time in months.

1564439306381.jpg

Happy

After meeting with some friends on the camp site and having a cosy, very basic dinner together, we're now in the van, getting ready for our first night here.

The body is aching, but I'm happy. Happy that I didn't back out and did go through with the entire 'holiday'-idea.

I miss my cats big time, but I really need this time away from everything. Relax a little, clear my head from all those neverending worries.

Whether we will make it to the South or not... we'll see. Today is today, and all I know about the future is that I will spend tomorrow in my favorite French river. We'll see where life will take us next.

La Douce France... I love you! <3



P.S.: @cicisaja, the thought of playing SM only crossed my mind for a second today. Guess it will be just one diary, instead of 2 ... ;0)



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe To RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png



SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

iSupportHHYM.gif


Sort:  

Your post reminded me of when I worked (underage) as a valet parking attendant at the Fontainbleau Hotel in Miami Beach.

Source

Source

Sweet Buddha on a cracker!

Those were some wild, fun times for me!

Imagine this:.

I was a 13+ y/o runaway, very fit and naturally tanned. Every workday, I was exposed to an endless parade of MILFs obsessed with young brown boys (AKA: Older women who engaged in Asian male pedophilia).

Needless to say, I routinely got awesome tips, had quite a few exciting (and oftentimes, weird) trysts with those customers, and grew up VERY FAST.

Enjoyed your post immensely.

Namaste, JaiChai

Looks perfect! I'm glad you're back made it too😊 Enjoy your well deserved holiday!

Glad you made it through the rush hours @simplymike!!!! The place looks amazing, so happy for you to be able to spend a quiet night there with love ones.

Looks like a nice vacation! I hope your back feels better soon.

Hi @simplymike, as a delegator to MAP Rewarder, you have received an airdrop of new MAPR tokens. Please read this new post, MAP Rewarder: Launch of MAPR Token - Airdrop to Delegators, that explains further on how the MAPR token has been designed and how future rewards will be distributed.
Enjoy the airdrop! I know it looks modest, but the tokens are actually worth something!

Don't check discord please @simplymike 😂😂😂 you need to soaking in the sun and the river😆 but the season will end in 2 days. I like this kind of vacation diaries instead of the SM one.
I have set yours on ginabot anyway, so Have Fun!

May God took away the Wifi at that camp during your stay 😂😂😂

Lol. I checked it last night, secretly ;0). Saw Dave's announcement. It wasn't easy, but I logged off again without leaving a note, haha. Gonna check it out later, though... too curious. But first: swim!

Enjoy your Swimming time... put your phone away 😂 back stroke style? Ask your gf to filming it 😁

This post received a free Upvote. Get your free Upvote NOW! Just follow @upvoteforfree

Oh yay! Glad you persevered. This is such good news and sounds like you are having some much needed soul food. Have a wonderful holiday. Look forward to more glorious photos.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @simplymike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 29000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Driving today is no longer fun, glad you pushed on and made it to a peaceful destination where you are able to enjoy the break, good luck with you fun venture further down south, lovely time of the year for travel @simplymike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61