ULOG #2: Happiness On A PlatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

A plate full of happiness: serving homegrown fruits and veggies to my friends.

IMG_20180813_010751.jpg

Food Straight From The Garden

On Friday, we decided to invite some friends over. The weather would be fine, so a BBQ it would be.

How I enjoyed walking through the garden, picking everything I needed to make this meal a success.

The different colors, textures, tastes,... and the idea that it was all grown in my own garden and all organic.

Few things make me happier...

divider.jpg

Harvest

The harvest included:

  • beetroots
  • Parision carrots
  • sweet chocolate bell peppers
  • Purple delight sweep peppers
  • cucamelons
  • Lemon Apple Cucumber
  • edible flowers to make garlic/herbs butter
  • different kinds of tomatoes:
    • Banana Leg Tomatoes
    • Heidi Tomatoes
    • Garden Peach Tomatoes
    • Some Cherry Tomatoes
    • Chocolate Pear Tomatoes
  • and our very first homegrown grapes, which were extremely delicious.

We are still waiting for the Indigo Rose tomatoes - they won't be ripe before they've turned completely black.

20180809_163319.jpg

No need to say we all enjoyed our colorfull plates.

divider.jpg

REMINDER

Don't forget to join the SteemIt Community Garden Challenge

RULES


rules.jpgClick Image To Enlarge

READ MORE HERE

divider.jpg

signature2.gif
Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter

More Posts You Might Like:

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Congratulations @simplymike! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

Beautiful harvest @simplymike! Not only is home grown food delicious and really good for you, there's also a great sense of accomplishment in knowing "I did that!"

=^..^=

I just don't get tired of watching and upvoting your posts hahaha, I love your garden! It's a pleasure to harvest fresh veggies for lunch, I harvested some peppers last day, but your garden is so bigger than mine hahaha, I'll be updating it and I'll show you later!

Thanks a lot, you really inspirate me.

I can't wait to see your update :0)

Nothing as healthy or tasty lke garden fresh food

Amen to that

wow simplymike! amazing variety, colors and flavors. almost too healthy! hey what are Indigo Rose tomatoes? love the color of those things.

They turn dark purple, and once they are ripe they become black.
I've never tasted them before myself...

howdy this fine Monday simplymike! oh they turn black! that's different, it should be interesting to see how they taste, I assume they are a rare type of tomato?

It appears to be a new type of tomato. Haven't looked up any more info yet...

howdy tonight simplymike! oh how interesting then everyone will be curious as to how it tastes.

You got a 7.64% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @simplymike!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

I would love to have homegrown fruits & vegetables. We can hardly have that in my home. The tomatoes look so inviting.

How come? Maybe you don't have a garden?
There are some small varieties you can grow inside, you know?!

Can only grow herbs in my little balcony area. Still happy with it 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Herbs are the best :0)
But where there is room for herbs, there is room for lettuce, and maybe even a Red Robin tomato plant. The grow only 30 to 35cm high..... ;0)

I absolutely love a colorful bowl of homegrown goodness like this!!! Nice job on the gardening :)

You're welcome @simplymike!

I was going to go back to your music post to tell you this, but I'll do it here. There's a chainsaw/small tool repair place across the street from us, all tough guys, and tonight they were blaring music, which they normally do, but I don't know who was choosing the songs tonight because Wham! was blasting out haha I'm never gonna dance again, guilty feet have got no rhythm... lol

Lmao!
I don't believe in coincidences, so they must have had a reason for that.

(Just to get it right: Careless Whispers was one of the first solo songs of George. Not that it matters, but I'm kinda of a freak when it comes to such things ;0P)

haha freak 😅 I think it was just some weird choices because I hear Lionel Richie after that hahaha

The eighties weren't all that bad, lol

Let me guess: it was 'Say You, Say Me'? Lmao

Congratulations @simplymike! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow! Such a variety growing in your garden!

How does Lemon Apple Cucumber taste? Any different to a normal cucumber?

And what about the sweet Chocolate bell peppers and Chocolate Pear tomatoes? Any idea why they are called like this?

I thought I knew most of the veggies grown in Europe but it seems like I'm far away from it :D

Neither of them are very common in Europe, for as far as I know.
The chocolate pear tomatoes are pear-shaped and turn almost brown when they are ripe. I assume that's where they get their name.

Lemon apple cucumbers are round and yellow and taste like cucumber. Their taste is a little softer than the regular ones.

The mini chocolate bell peppers have a beautiful chocolate brown color when they are ripe. They taste like normal sweet peppers, but a little sweeter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84