Ulog: My Weekend Visit to Orphanage Home

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hello world, it’s your passionate blogger @smartcarthy. Today being a Saturday, I decided to pay a visit to one of the orphanage homes in my locality. You may not understand the emotional trauma those children go through except you get so close to them to the extent where they start asking you certain emotional questions. All I wanted was to put a smile on their face with the little available finance I had.

As I arrived at the orphanage home, some of the children who were playing outside ran to embrace me. They all flocked around me, some admiring my shoes, others my hair and so on. I had to excuse them for a moment just to meet with the superintendent at the portal and let them know my reason of visit. On meeting the resident superintendent who was an elderly woman, I told her I just wanted to interact with the children, play some games with them, get them some candies, cookies as well as writing materials. I thought of doing better than that but I had little fund on me, so I decided to show them love with the little I had.

First, I assembled the children and gave them a brief exhortation, prayed with them and then we started story-telling, joke cracking, creative writing competition, dance competition and the rest. It was really fun as the children danced to the rhythm of the latest dance step in Nigeria known as ‘Shaku Shaku’. The children were extremely delighted because the fun was massive. As I announced to them that I will be leaving them in few minutes time due to other engagements I had, their countenance changed. They wished I could spend the whole day with them, but I promised coming back to visit with something bigger.

At times, those children do not need much from you, just a smile can go a long way to give them hope and happiness.
Try reaching out to orphans today..
You too can be the difference we need.

Thanks for stopping by...

Sort:  

Congratulations @smartcarthy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58