ULOG #12: Cancer Scare

in #ulog6 years ago

My adopted father had surgery last week to remove a mass from his colon that was the size of a baseball and entwined with a few of his organs. (I’m not a doctor so I can’t really provide specifics on that one.)

The man is incredible but has had so many health problems the past few years that we are scared we will soon lose him. He’s a fighter and sticks around for his wife and his grandkids. His grandkids would definitely be lost without their Pawpaw.

He got through surgery alright even though it was hours longer than it should have been because they didn’t know previously that the mass was quite so large. My sister and mother waited for him in the surgery waiting room for hours, on their knees for most of it praying.

Surgery Results

When the doctor finally emerged, he told them that Dad made it through surgery fine but they were unable to remove the entire mass so they were testing it for cancer. The doctor was confident that Dad had colon cancer and would need to seek treatment immediately.


Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

A few days later, the test results came back….. NO CANCER! My family had prayed and stressed over the results for days, but Dad never did. He told us that whatever God had planned for him was ok by him and was meant to be.

I think myself to be a faithful person but I’m not sure I could resign myself to my fate as easily as he did that day in the hospital.

He is home and resting now after a stressful week in the hospital. The grandkids are chomping at the bit to see him but they haven’t been allowed in yet because he’s still hooked up to machines and he doesn’t want to scare them.

Life’s Blessings

We are incredibly blessed that he is home finally and doesn’t have cancer. We are blessed to have more time with him and we are blessed to even have such a great man in our lives.


Photo by Adam Sherez on Unsplash

Dad was an Army Ranger and spent 20 years breaking his body so that we could be free. The man deserves the world but has settled for a small plot of land in the mountains where he can live the rest of his days in peace.

I know I’m biased but nothing and no one has done more for their community than he has. He is a blessing to those around him for sure.

He helped me to find a family when I didn’t always feel part of my birth family and accepted me when I couldn’t accept myself.

Anyway, we had a cancer scare for a few days but we were blessed in such an incredible way because it was only a scare and he can heal from the surgery and play with his grandkids again soon!

Thanks for reading,

Ivy

The @helpie community is growing! If you are a community-centered person and want to be part of a great community dedicated to helping others grow then follow @helpie for more information, leave a comment on this post, or reach out to me on Discord at socent#3214.

Are you a military veteran that believes in community and in the Steemit platform? We have an awesome community of vets on Discord. If interested, send me a message on Discord at socent#3214.

I recently became a mentor for Promo Mentors every Tuesday at 11am EST if anyone needs some posts checked out! I really enjoy the community and how helpful everyone is :)

Sort:  

Chic article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Love that you are sharing about faith, family, and freedom. So excited that prayers were answered and that a man who loves you dearly will be in your life for a while longer.

For me the following line best describes faith and family:

accepted when I couldn’t accept myself.

Blessings!

Happy he has no major issues. To reemain healthy is a big blessing. It is felt when we get sick. Stay Blessed.

Congratulations @socent! You have received a personal award!

Steemit Veterans
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Father God, I pray for your healing over this man. May lives be healed and changed for your good. In Jesus Christ.Amen

Health is the core of our well being, and sometimes it brings scares and warnings, I'm glad and feel blessed it was not the worst. Healing wishes!

Congratulations @socent! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @socent! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87