You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When it Rains, it Pours... and Other Stories (Ulog no. 7)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

We use to have that problem here then our city went through many years back and replaced all the drainage pipes. They got tired of getting fined for letting sewage overflow into the river and paying damages for sewage overflows into people's basements. It ended up being all good, it stopped the overflows but when they went through and put in new pipes they put the main pipe down the center of the street, to top if off they placed the pipes going into people's homes on a ninety degree slant. The old rule use to be that a homeowner was responsible from the curb to their house when came to a drain, now that they moved the pipe to the middle of the road they changed to extend to the middle of the road. Now if you are a do it yourselfer who doesn't want to pay three to four hundred dollars to unclog a sewage pipe you not only have to contend with the extra length but a typical hand operated snake stretching over 100 feet won't allow for enough pressure on the line to get past the bend. It wasn't a huge issue before, every once in a while, the clogs usually came undone pretty easily. Then my grandson was born and baby wipes can be quite a challenge of a clog depending how many they flushed, I often would wonder what would come first, my son getting tired of helping me operate the snake (even with proper gloves and bleach it's a dirty job) or my grandson grew out of diapers. I always had to be the one after clearing the clog to clean up the mess and disinfect the floor so he got out of relatively easily just operating the snake though he acted like it was killing him, I use to say to him all the time it's not like this was on my list of plans for the day. I had two girl tenants once who created quite a havoc, always flushing tampons. They clogged the drain on the fourth of July once. They were really mad they couldn't take a shower while I was there. They kept yelling at me how I was ruining the plans they had made for the day making them late, I yelled back that my plans didn't initially involve standing in a pile of shit in the basement trying to unclog a drain. Really whose plans ended up being really shitty that day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62406.70
ETH 3184.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79