Drinking in May Review - What I've Drunk & Thoughts

in #ulog6 years ago

Hi Steemit!

The weekend's nearly over and it's time for another little post. Outside of the community, I love food and drink, in fact, it's what I spend most of my time and money on. I love to find new recipes, new ways of trying cooking or baking foods or mixing herbs and spices to create absolutely new flavours. I also love to eat out. I get bored easily of the same foods and drinks which is why I specifically go in search of new brands, new releases and, things I've yet to try. I wanted to start a little monthly series detailing some of the best (and worst) foods and drinks I've tasted in each month.

This one will cover May but only the drinks I've tried so keep your eyes peeled for the foods article shortly.

First up is:

Untitled design (9).png

Amarula Cream Liquer

Amarula Cream Liqueur | I only just found out about this marvellous liqueur this year from my other half @jockery he tried it once on a plane going to the Philippines and fell in love. Knowing how much I'd like this be ordered the little 5cl sized drink for me to try. The drink itself is made from the Marula fruit. It doesn't taste like alcohol (which is great) and you can drink it straight, or with milk or I've heard - with hot chocolate.

Overall, this is worth the buy! It's definitely unique and has a natural sweetness that's paired well with the cream. Great for drinking out in the sunshine!

17495094_1809402872710117_1096780973468549120_n.jpg

Hotel Chocolat's Salted Caramel Vodka and 85% Cocoa Truffles

Hotel Chocolate Salted Caramel Vodka | This was a treat purchase, I love visiting the Hotel Chocolate store in Edinburgh as they have such unique products. Rare chocolate blends, pasta, sauces, truffles and as you can see, alcohol. Everything is cocoa inspired. This drink is the salted caramel vodka. At first taste, you are hit with the smooth caramel notes that transfer into the bitter saltiness which, is way nicer than it sounds. As it hits the back of your through you do get the alcohol notes couples with the sweet and salty. It's easy to drink but I doubt I'll repurchase as I'm not a huge vodka fan in all honesty.

Untitled design (8).png

Sibberi Bamboo Water & A Typical Scottish Wet Pavement

Sibberi Bamboo Water | Marketed as a diet water that aims to make you ''Glow'' It's made with tree spa from bamboo and water. It aims to help the body stimulate collagen and to help repair. But in all honesty, it tastes really bad. I couldn't even drink half of this and believe me I really wanted to. It has a weird coconut waster type taste but without the sweetness.

Untitled design (11).png

Calorific Bailey's Liqueur Cafe Latte

Bailey's Liqueur Cafe Latte | While out eating at the Fettykil Fox restaurant, I decided to put the diet on hold and order one of these alcoholic coffees. This is made with Bailey's Liqueur, fresh latte and ice-cream! Yes, it's super calorific but I could have drunk more than one of these. It was absolutely fantastic. Definitely recommended for trying either out in a restaurant or even to make on your own in the house.

Untitled design (10).png

Captain Kombucha Raspberry Drink

Captain Kombucha Raspberry | OK, so this was my first foray in to health drinks. Kombucha is a fermented drink made from a bacteria called a scoby, by growing the scoby and feeding it sugar it created this fizzy fermented drink. Anything fermented is good for the body as it provides an addition to healthy bacteria. Because this was my first taste of the scary bacteria drink, I opted for the raspberry version. So what did it taste like? Well, kinda like fizzy raspberry vinegar. While neither amazing and neither disgusting it was ''different'' would I try it again, erm... I'm not entirely sure. Maybe a different brand, or flavour.

I want to love it. I guess it will take some time.

So a variety of drinks over the last month huh? What have you tried this month and loved or hated? Let me know in the comments? I'd love to get some new inspiration
Screen Shot 2018-06-10 at 17.21.16.png

Edit: I have been asked to 'prove' that I am a real person, so here you go Steemit lovelies, this is me (today 6th June 2018) quick snap, taken while working - you can also find me offsite on Instagram where I will post my picture with the Steemit badge username is sweetelyseuk

Untitled design (3).png

Love, Elyse

Copyright: All images photographed, taken and owned wholly by myself

Sort:  

According to my palet - I think this would go great with a Irish Stout.

Alcoholic coffee? wow that's just great but I don't drink liquor so I'm fine with Sibberi Bamboo Water but wait it taste bad? oh my gosh LOL. Okay I'll go for Captain Kombucha Raspberry, woops! this drink made from bacteria? I'm afraid of drinking safeguard soap after it LOL. What the., can I have a glass of water instead?. (Kidding aside)

This post is soo cool and very informative thank you for sharing maam @sweetelyse. God Bless You.

You can join the steemgigs discord live talk show every sunday 12:00AM Philippines time maam, hosted by sir @surpassinggoogle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01