The Jellyfish in their unnatural environment

in #ulog6 years ago

Tonight was the opening for the Hudson Hospital show that the jellyfish photos are in, even though they've actually been up for a month. Some of the people who helped name them asked for photos of them hanging, so I grabbed some not-great cell-phone shots.

hudson1.jpg

They filled an entire hallway with my jellyfish; unfortunately more of a staff-and-patient hallway than one frequented by the public, but that's the risk of a huge show where they fill the whole hospital with art.

hudson2.jpg

There was some really nice stuff out in the more-accessible areas, so I don't feel particularly put-upon to be hidden away a little bit. It's like my jellyfish are a secret treasure of the hospital.

hudson3.jpg

This was the first chance I've had to see all these together in person, as seventeen of them basically went from the FedEx truck straight into my car and to the show, and this is one of the few shows that I haven't had to participate in the hanging of. They're pretty powerful all together like this, especially in kind of a stark setting where there isn't a lot of decoration.

hudson4.jpg

The curator there said she was going to recommend them to a friend of hers who does exhibits for a regional park building. (Silverwood, for the Minnesotans.) I should check where their application schedule is at the moment. I don't currently have any plans for what to do with these when I get them back in October.

hudson5.jpg

I got a lot of compliments on the names that many of you supplied.

My parents and my out-laws both came, and my parents brought friends, so we spent a fair chunk of time looking around the other artists' exhibits. Several good photographers in the group this time, which was nice, and also an installation artist I liked and some interesting nontraditional fiber art.

If you happen to be in Hudson, WI it's worth going and looking around the hospital. This is something they do all year in quarterly installments, and it's not just a gallery, it's most of the walls in the hospital.

Sort:  

In case anyone wants a link to the names: https://steemit.com/art/@tcpolymath/the-names-of-the-jellyfish

This is really cool! Hehe I'm scrolling through some of the names and I'm partial to the "A Short Brimless Felt Hat Barely Blocks Out the Sound of a Celtic Violin"

Looking at all the white, the white walls, the white floor, the off white chair rail, the primary blue does add to the environment then the white in the pictures begins to stand out more. Your hospital does have a rather blah color scheme for the walls and floor, at least in that part of the hospital.

I hope there is a growing trend to use more art in public buildings. The university I one worked for has been doing it for about 20 years. Bringing art to the people rather than storing it in a gallery makes a lot of sense.

this reminds me of a very cool video... its evil, but cool...

Really well done, and congratulations! I love the look and your compositions are great! Hudson is over 3 hours away otherwise I'd totally come see them in person.

You got a 35.72% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tcpolymath!

Congratulations @tcpolymath! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89