Holy Guacamole! [ulog]

in #ulog6 years ago
I came to SC several years ago to take care of my elderly parents and had not been back to Tennessee where my husband and I lived for several years (although I hope to move back there some day). As such, I had not seen my sister-in-law @doana or my dear friend @ladyangelwolf in a very long time — although all of us talk on the phone several times each week! It had also been a long time since I'd seen other dear friends (Kathy & Larry) who are like "adopted family" to me, although we've stayed in-touch over the years, too.

Kathy & Larry were in Tennessee this weekend to visit family and to attend a race at the Bristol Motor Speedway. My sister-in-law @doana needed some help with a couple of things as well, so I hopped in my car and drove up there to see everyone and do what needed to be done.

Poblanos.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •


• PHOTO BY ME •
Not long after arriving, getting food was in order. @doana suggested Poblano's because they have good food and make fresh guacamole, table-side. I think I could eat my weight in guacamole! 😁 The waitress made a great guacamole for us, which we enjoyed as an appetizer.

The décor was lovely and carefully planned, not garish or frivolous. I really enjoyed the little painting that was hanging beside my seat. It was a very simple artwork depicting a courtyard outside a house, done with subdued colors and delightful brush strokes. I could not quite make out the signature of the artist with certainty, but it looks a bit like: "KENID" or something similar.

I had the Yolandas plate (chicken enchiladas with sides), @doana ordered a Spinach Enchilada plate w/sides, and @ladyangelwolf had the Deluxe Quesadilla plate. Everything was delicious, and the restaurant wasn't too crowded, thankfully, as I don't handle crowds very well since my husband passed. At the door to the restaurant, there was a lovely little "rock garden" with a waterfall:

Poblanos-3.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

There was also a seating area out front on a cozy little patio where people could gather to wait for friends to arrive before dining together. @ladyangelwolf thought the outdoor furniture was cool, so I snapped a pic of it for her:

Poblanos-2.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

Then we went back to @doana's house so I could do the things with which she needed my help. Before getting started, though, I took a peek at the beautiful Crepe Myrtle tree in her back yard, which had grown tremendously since I last saw it!

CrepeMyrtle.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

My sister-in-law has so many interesting items at her house, such as this little turtle fashioned from sea shells:

Turtle-2.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

...and this beautiful turtle lamp, fashioned from stained glass, which she has equipped with a blue night-light bulb:

Turtle-1.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

I was able to do some of the things she needed me to do, then went to meet Kathy & Larry. We spent a couple of hours visiting with each other over coffee, slushees, and milkshakes. I gave them some things that belonged to a very dear, departed "sister" of ours. Then I went back to my sister-in-law's to finish tasks there, then took @ladyangelwolf back to her place, and headed home. I had to stop several times on the way home to stretch my legs. I am also grateful for clean and safe restrooms along the way...

Women.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

One brief stretch-break beside the road was at a closed country restaurant that sold Bar-B-Que from their kitchen, and I thought of @sultnpapper when I saw the sign:

BBQ.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

I might have to visit that place sometime, as it is only 30-ish minutes from home, sample their food, and write a review like @sultnpapper does! 😋 It was in the wee-hours of the morning when I arrived back home. I poked around at a few posts on Steemit to wind-down for the night and then slept rather soundly after a long 18-hour day. In fact, I slept through the Witness Chat hosted by @shadowspub on the @steemitramble discord, waking up right before it ended. I hated missing it (this was the first such monthly-chat with the witnesses that I've missed), but sleep was a priority after my busy trip back to Tennessee. It is amazing how such a day wears me out now that I am older, but grateful that I can still do it when the need arises!

ThanksForReading.png 😊

Poblano's:
!steemitworldmap 36.375555 lat -82.427924 long Boones Creek, TN D3SCR

incisel--PINK.png

a big hug is due to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE any Mexican food!! This looks like a place that I would add to my dinner out rotation

Looks yummy. Visiting my old stomping grounds in Tennessee where I was grown and raised :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That was one full day for sure for you. It is always nice to see friends in person, it is hard to see the smiles when you are just talking in the phone.
I can tell that there is at least one curation group that likes BBQ, and as well as you write and photograph you should be a shoe in for one of their up votes. Just do me one favor, try and do yours around the beginning or the end of the month so i will at least have a chance to feed them on the 15th.
This a very nice post and enjoyed reading your wonderful trip and visit with family and friends.

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekittygirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=holy-guacamole-ulog


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A long but good day, it seems, @thekittygirl. Glad you're back home safe.

Sounds like an exceptionally productive, well-utilized day!

This reminds me of a very dear, old friend of mine – an elderly chap named Harry Freed, who had a penchant for logging his travels in much the same fashion as you've done here. He was 93 when we met, and had been keeping a daily diary since he was 13.

I met him at an assisted living facility in Vancouver. I volunteered there for almost 3 years, running a weekly 'reminiscence group'. Harry always read to us from his old diaries and journals, and his way of transporting us back to all these fascinating places he'd been – right down to the food he'd eaten each day – was inspiring.

In the end, it was the stories he carried in his precious pocket diaries that he most cherished and shared with a wonderfully humble pride. He became a very dear friend to me – like the grandfather I'd never had. Thank you for reminding me of him. I've a feeling you'll come to appreciate posts/records such as this in years to come.

harry.jpg

Oh, that is amazing! My father and grandfather kept diaries, too, but not quite so detailed as my ulog here. Your friend sounds like an amazing and wonderful person! What a gift to have known someone like that! 😊

Hi @thekittygirl, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Pimp Your Post Thursday is a live curation show where you get to know others and they you. You can promote your post or the post of someone you think needs more notice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56