Ulog 09: Quick getaway!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

3E329BB1-7A22-4792-95A9-56DDE4912D55.jpeg
(I wasn’t able to get the name of the church. I just took a photo coz I love the details. P.S I was in the car when I took this so yeah I guess that’s an acceptable excuse for not getting the name!😬)

“Maupay nga gab-i ha inyo nga tanan”

(Good Evening, everyone!)

(Disclaimer: All photos presented on this post is original. I used my Iphone 6s to capture. Play with the edits in Adobe Lightroom CC v.3.3.1. Enjoy!)

Today, I went to Tacloban City. After more than 5 years now I've set foot to the city again. By the way, I'm from Ormoc City, Leyte sooo Tacloban City is just 2 hrs drive away from my hometown.

65DF9134-DE54-4D7F-88E7-01A929B50F18.jpeg
(First stop @ The McArthur Memorial Park in Barangay Candahug, Palo, Leyte!)

I went with my mom because she has to run some errands in the city. Fun fact: I just had my first day of work yesterday and now I'm absent hahaha. This is for you guys. I want to share with you the beauty of Tacloban City!

Just a brief history, we all knew that Tacloban was one of the city affected by the Supertyphoon Yolanda last November 8, 2013. As I pass through the streets I can imagine what happened to the place 5 years ago because I myself experienced the tragedy. I remembered I was first year college that time. Daily needs are in scarcity.

1A40816C-F015-49EE-95A3-4352EDAAA628.jpeg
(Tacloban Astrodome)

The photo above is where conventions and seminars are held. BUT during the Yolanda tragedy it served as the evacuation center for most people near the area. Sadly, many people died in this building since its geographical location is near the coastal area of Tacloban and storm surge just flashed away all the people who evacuated in the dome :(

29C20B33-AC3E-472D-8136-E4BAECD86EA1.jpeg
(The famous boat that was splashed from the big waves of the sea down to the shorline during the Yolanda tragedy!)

The boat shown in the picture above is now one of the tourist destination to witness by the people. The city of Tacloban fenced the area to commemorate the great tragedy that struck the city.

So much to reminisce about Tacloban and how the city rose from the great tragedy. It was never easy tho. Lots of people and infrastractures died; but seeing Tacloban today is like they’ve fully recovered. There’s so much beauty the city can offer. Let me show you more pictures:

64B1E13E-7702-4CFF-9A0C-212268B21DEA.jpeg
(The famous Leyte Landing Memorial Park ft. General Douglas McArthur and fellows)

1B5CED81-B9F1-4568-8D1C-F6A7F4069434.jpeg
(Selfie with them! hehe)

Final thoughts!

I found a site where you can learn basic Waray phrases. This is useful when you visit places in the Eastern Visayas region coz basically it is their dialect and, Tacloban is one of the many places in the region to have spoken the dialect fluently:
Click here for the site! God bless everyone. Hoping you’re putting Tacloban City in your travel list! 😉

Thanks for reading. Till next time. Be happy 🙂

HEADER.jpg

PREVIOUS ULOGS


ULOG 08: Welcome Back!

ULOG 07: Finish Line!

ULOG 06: Me!

ULOG 05: Ultimate Soul Sucker!

ULOG 04: Make it happen!

ULOG 03: You are complete!

ULOG 02: Endure every feels!

ULOG 01: You are enough!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71