Ulog 64 September 5 2019 - Thursday steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog5 years ago

Time has always been a precious resource that I know if wasted, it can never be gained back.

Yet, I struggle to manage time well. I have been trying to allocate time for years and still cannot find the right balance to make time work for me.

I am beginning to give up on it altogether. Let time run and not be so concerned where the time goes. But I know that is even worse than tracking time and seeing where it is going.

These are some of the techniques I have learnt that I’d like to share with you.

The Pomodoro Method

This method is simple. Take 25 minutes to work and 5 minutes of break. Every 3 sessions, your 4th one will give you a 20 minute break. If you keep up the work sessions like this, you get adequate breaks and will not burn out easily.

The 20/80 Rule

20% of your time will see you producing 80% of your results. That’s what it says. If you were to be using that 20% to do 80% of work, I still have no clue where the 80% of time goes to.
Though this rule has been proven to apply to most people, I do not wish to follow this rule because this is for the average Joe.
I feel this is absurd and do not want to apply this to my work life.

Hard Work First

When you have done the hardest tasks first, the rest of the day may seem a lot easier. Just like when you cycle uphill for the first part of your ride, it is easier when the rest of your journey goes downhill. I am going to apply this to my work.

8-8-8

This means 8 hours of rest, 8 hours of work and 8 hours of play. This also applies to the average worker.
I doubt, I can ever take a break as I am working as a one man show. So I am going to apply the 8-14-2 rule, where 14 is all work. Of course there will be small breaks in between and that is all I can do to make time work for me.

I am going to build a family soon. So, I have to get in more money as expenses for a baby is going to kick in really soon.

I have set milestones for myself. That includes phases from RM20 for the first phase to RM2 million. I hope I can hit RM200 billion one day. This means continuous improvement that will not see me plateau if I have that kind of ambition.

The thing is how I am going to do it on my own is still something which I will have to figure out.

Even if I am going to do it with others, I will be outsourcing most of the work without me having to run a whole entire organisation.

I think that works.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97