ULOG #22: The search is over

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Way back in 2016, I had this subject in college called Pest Protection (more commonly known as CRPT 1 at the time and more recently as AGRI 41 in UPLB). For the 1st Semester of Academic Year 2016-2017, the chronological order of the portions we studied were Entomology, Plant Pathology, and Weed Science.

During the Entomology Portion, our instructor required us to obtain, preserve, and pin 50 insects from ten different insect orders for our project. Hunting down the common insects seen here in the Philippines such as insects in the order Coleoptera (beetles) and Lepidoptera (butterflies and moths) proved to be rather easy, though it required a significant chunk of my free time and energy. I was able to capture insects from several insect orders, though I missed out on catching, let alone observing, the ones from the orders Phasmatodea (walking stick insects and leaf insects) and Neuroptera (lacewings, antlions, etc.).

Yesterday night, little did I know that I'd get to see one of those elusive critters for the first time. During a meeting last night, my seatmate and I were discussing matters regarding activities by the youth, when I suddenly noticed something green perched upon the side of his right leg. I looked closer, and guess what I saw?


(This was a close-up shot by my seatmate)

I've seen one of these before, but not as detailed as this time around. I did some research on what insect it was, and I was right: it was indeed a member of the insect order Neuroptera. It was a green lacewing, particularly the common green lacewing (Chrysoperla carnea). I was in awe as I examined its netted membranous wings and how the light shined into different colors on the surface.

After 7 minutes or so of my "Eureka!" moment, I transferred it onto my blue ballpen and then let it fly out of the window, where it won't be harmed by people. Thanks be to God for getting the chance to see another one of his marvelous creations.

Did you have a similar experience before? Which insects would you like to see for the first time in the future? Make sure to let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading! More to come.

Take care,
Jesse Mar

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by virtualself from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your content has been sent to the promoted section of steemit.

Thanks for participating in our Promotion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70