Refusing to Act My Age

in #ulog4 years ago (edited)

Today I made a conscious decision to not act my age. Now, granted, I typically already do not act my age, but that is typically because that's just who I am. Today I made a decision not to do so. Was it worth it? Sure!

So what did I do?

I rode my bike 63 miles. The ride was billed as 64, came in at just under 63, and I wasn't going to argue. They gave me a stamp of approval and I hobbled along on my way.

Screenshot_20191005162624_Strava.jpg

The trip was from Delaware City to Wilmington and back again, twice: 16 miles each direction. Four legs of 16 miles. Sure! I can do this.

The first leg was not quite what I was expecting. There was a pretty strong headwind and the vast majority of the leg was an incline. At the half way point of the leg was a check-in with offers of water and snacks. I was in pretty good shape so didn't tarry. The rest of the leg was along a path I've taken before, which I've detailed here - https://steempeak.com/crappycameraphotos/@wwwiebe/new-bike-trail-with-crappy-camera - but I did not stop to take pictures this time.

Leg two was fun. Mostly on a decline and with a backwind. I made up some time that I wasn't expecting to have 'lost'. Finally made it back to Delaware City and took a few minutes to stretch my legs. And off I went again.

Now, leg's three and four were not as easy as legs one and two. I had already been riding for over two hours and 32 miles. I'm not the fastest rider in the world (as evidenced by a number of people passing me), which is fine - I don't care, I'm only racing myself - but the first two legs took about 2 hours 20 minutes, and knowing I was getting tired, I was making mental preparations to take 3 hours so I could pace myself where required.

Getting to New Castle was alright. I did take another minute or two to stretch, then off to Wilmington.

And the wind picked up. But I carried on. When I got to the check-in at Wilmington I had planned to rest a few more minutes, which I did. I was a little ahead of my new schedule and had plenty of time to return the final 16 miiles.

Which I took. My game plan on the last leg was "just get back". Case in point:

The 8 mile highway on leg 2 took me 37 minutes at an average of 14 mph. That same 8 mile hightway on leg 4 took me 45 minutes at an average of 11.5 mph. I was exhausted. "Just get there". I didn't need to race, I just needed to finish.

I did face one major uphill incline on leg four, near the end, and let out a wail upon seeing it that may have made a nearby dog bleed from the ears. But I somehow made it to the top.

My total moving time was 5 hours 1 minute. My total time over all was 5 minutes 22 seconds. Didn't tarry for long.

And my reward? Well, bragging rights for one. And an earned beer for two. And a medallion for three.

20191005_204256.jpg

Here's my second bestie modeling my new "gold ribbon medal" and holding one of my favourite snacks for me. How thoughtful! (He's my second-bestie because the dog is my first)

Lessons Learned

  1. I got sunburned. It's best to ride at night.
  2. If I'm going to do this again, I need a new bike. One with better shocks.
  3. Padded riding shorts sure helped!
  4. Riding downhill is easier than up.
  5. When doing something otherwise difficult, ask yourself just why you're doing this. If the answer is "because you can," continue.
  6. I've just come up with the best pick up line in a bar: -nudge-, "Hey honey, I'm sterile and can ride for 5 hours."

(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

You're a better man than I am. The only way I'd ride a bike that far is if it was downhill in every direction.

lol! I understand that! Those hills were beginning to feel like Kilimanjaro.

Congrats @wwwiebe! Awesome ride, that positive attitude really helps doesn't it? Great ride :)

Thank you very much! Absolutely, a positive attitude is what keeps a person going when your body really just wants to pull over to the side of the road and curl up in a little ball. :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Great story!
Manually curated by @free-reign.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you!

Well done dude. Its a mind over matter game. Finishing like a hero. How's your ass though. Mr smartypants is an avid cycler as well and I always get the butt complaints post race!

Thank you! It was a helluva ride, for sure. I had previously bought some riding shorts with extra padding in the ass area. They make me look like a baboon if I don't put shorts over them (which I did), but man were they comfy. My legs, however, are absolutely killing me this morning. Ugh.

Haha I'm quite familiar with those baboon butt pants. Life savers. It's a good pain right? Like a pain of achievement!! 🏆🏆

Exactly! I have an entirely new respect for people who race professionally.

Congratulations @wwwiebe! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

hahaha.. I love number 4! oh and the pick up line, what a winner! lol. Great job sir wwwiebe I fear that you are competing against yourself too hard though...the next ride will be a hundred miles?

100 miles? I'm not sure about that. I could barely walk after 64, and at the speed I ride that'd take all day! Right now I'll be content just to get back to my regular 8-12 mile lunchtime rides.

Glad you enjoyed the post!

It was a great post sir wwwiebe and that 8 to 12 miles sounds like WAY plenty to ride!

Victor that Apple I am laughing my pants off hahahaha oh so is mr skeleton oh and this is the perfect googly

Hee! I'm glad you like it! And I've got plans for googlies. :)

That's a key part of living happy, no? Keep refusing :)

Exactly! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76