Turkey Point Lighthouse

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

So, I was originally not going to go out today. I was, in fact, going to stay in and Get Things Done. I have a game to work on, a comic to outline, a 3d printer to finally get working, and the beginnings of a children's book to rough out, and today was the one day this week I did not have anything else scheduled to interrupt me. It was even sunny out! And I was adamant I was going to stay in.

And then I came across my friend @dkkarolien 's post about a nice walk outside, and I became envious. So I packed up the child and out we went, this time to the south side of the Elk Neck Peninsula in Maryland to visit the Turkey Point Lighthouse.

It's about a 30 minute drive to get there. Once we got there the boy pointed the way down the hiking path.

_DSC5631.jpg

We found a deer on the way. I couldn't get my camera out in time for a good picture before she bolted into the brush.

_DSC5632.jpg

But some patience was rewarded just a few moments later when a cute little red fox posed for us. He walked with us/near us for close to a minute before fleeing as well.

_DSC5642.jpg

After about 20 minutes of walking (which I'm sure felt like an absolute eternity to my 10 year old. "Are we there yet?" he kept asking. Obviously we weren't. I refrained from saying "Do you want to turn back around?" because he probably would have answered 'yes') we finally made it. ->insert angle music here<-

_DSC5643.jpg

The lighthouse itself is no longer used, but it stands as a really neat structure. The boy stood in front of it for me to get an idea of it's height. It's not a terribly tall structure; when it was used up into the 1940's it would shine 13 miles into the bay.

_DSC5646.jpg

Of course, being that it is now a historic monument, it needs what every historic monument requires: a gift shop. Right, @dswigle? It's closed today, but I'm sure it's otherwise full of incredibly high-end goods at affordable, every day prices.

_DSC5645.jpg

Today, being Tuesday, also happens to be #treetuesday. Ironically, we were in the woods, but I couldn't get a good picture of them because there were too many trees in the way! But this one did stand out. I really liked this one. If I was the lightkeeper and this tree was in my yard, so to speak, I think I'd spend many an afternoon sitting in its shade looking out over the bay.

_DSC5648.jpg

Solitude

_DSC5661.jpg

Finally, on the way back, we passed within about 20 feet of another deer. She wasn't really skittish about us, and we weren't terribly quiet either (I was working on trying to convince the child that another 10 minutes walking wasn't going to kill him)

_DSC5674.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Sometimes we have to just close our eyes to everything that we have to do and listen to the inner voice that is urging us to get outside.
I also did exactly this and we escaped for two days to the southernmost tip of the African continent. Lighthouse, shipwreck and everything else included.
You and the Boy had a great trip here my friend!
Blessings!

That's exactly it! Sometimes you just need to throw caution to the wind and go Do Something. Spontaneous road trips are great!

The fox followed you?! That is very odd. They run when I get to within 100 feet of them.
Sounds like a great walk you had with The Boy.
I hope you have many days like this of Not Getting Things Done. I know I do!

I was surprised by that little fox too! It really made my son's day.

Days like this one are the best! There's enough time to be running wild trying to keep up and appease everyone else. Small treasures like today are awesome.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wwwiebe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=turkey-point-lighthouse


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

😉 I am so happy when I'm quoted as being the inspiration for something. Even if it's just going for a walk. Thank you for tagging me, this is surely an awesome post. I do love lighthouses and once again learning about and seeing a place I've never seen before and not am not likely to see so it's a win win. Great walk, great photos and love the kid enjoying it with dad. It's how it should be. Mine are too old and lazy now to accompany me on my daily walks. 😂 I regret that I am not able to upvote as my VP is currently at the beach recharging the batteries after some reckless upvoting shenanigans. 😳

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #564.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

That's awesome, thanks @itchyfeetdonica!

Nice walk with your son. Love seeing the deer and fox. Lighthouses are always interesting. I’m glad it’s still there even if not in use. Many here are maintained by the communities once they were decommissioned by the government.

Oh man, what a day! Sounds like you 100% made the right decision! That fox is so stinking cute. I would be so excited to have one that close to see. A few years ago there were some babies right near us down the street, but after one got hit by a car they moved elsewhere and I never saw them again. I always love to go check out lighthouses, as well. A few years ago we made a trip up to New Hampshire and drove up the coast into Maine. We caught quite a few on that day trip. I'd love to make it up that way again soon to check out more. :)

That was a cute little fox! Big ears too!

I really like old structures such as lighthouses. There aren't too many in this particular area, so it's always a lot of fun to come across them. Probably the most interesting lighthouse I ever visited was an old stone structure on Pelee Island, which is in Lake Erie and is Canada's southern most point. There is a museum on the island with a wonderfully written letter from the 19th century from some government surveyors to the British Crown about an unfortunate incident at the lighthouse in which the LightKeeper lost his life.

It was a long time ago and I wish I had pictures. I do have the memories though!

I was, in fact, going to stay in and Get Things Done. I have to work ......

I can totally relate, but the walking gives me energy too so i maybe will do that today

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84