Steam in the Fog

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

SF-Trip-06.jpg

I took this photo in January of 2016 at the Roaring Camp Railroad near the Henry Cowell Redwood State Park in California. We were visiting our friend Barbra in San Jose and went to see the Redwoods. It rained most of the time that we were there, but we didn't mind. The clouds, fog and rain gave the forest atmosphere, and there we no crowds. We like to travel during the off season, the weather may not be ideal, but we often have the place nearly to ourselves.
The Roaring Camp Railroad is a train ride to the top of the mountain through the Redwood Forest pulled by a 1880s era steam engine. This was my first time to see redwoods, and I was not disappointed. I think the rain added to the experience.
I love this photo of the steam from the train discharging into the fog, though I almost missed my ride back down the mountain to get the shot.

Sort:  

Congratulations @xcountytravelers! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This is a really beautiful shot. 😍😍😍

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you. I was just getting into Photography, but it is still one of my favorites.

I had been using a borrowed Nikon and my wife got me a Sony A6000 for Christmas.

Love that camera.

That's great. 😊😊

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=xcountytravelers
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steam-in-the-fog


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55