#Ulog 6: When you have to make a trip for a sad reason

in #ulog6 years ago

A long trip ahead

Tomorrow I'm going to hop on a plane to fly halfway around the world to be with family. I did that last Christmas as well and didn't think I'd be doing it again so soon.

Last time was all about having fun, a stark contrast to what it will be this time. I'm going to be with family as well, just like last time, but one person will be missing. My mother - Mami - passed away on Sunday night, peacefully in her sleep. Her funeral will be on Friday. It will be very small, only the closest family, just the way she wished it to be.


Bildli Mami.jpg
(My mother as a child. Picture taken by my late grandfather around 1939)

At this point I won't write much about what this means to me, who she was as a person, or what our relationship was like. I'm still processing the news and don't feel much like writing at the moment. But I do feel that sharing this information here on #steemit in a #ulog is good for me because this is the most caring and supportive place one can find (on the internet at least).

Sad but also glad

I'm going to stay with my father - Papi - for a few weeks in the hope that I can make the time of adjustment and the transition to life as a single, widowed person a little bit easier for him. He and my mother have been together for 60 years and have rarely spent a night apart. It will be hard. And that will be sad to watch.

But I do have a lot to be glad for. I'm glad that I have to brothers to share the task of looking after Papi; glad that Mami didn't have to go to a nursing home or stay in the hospital too long; glad she was not in pain at the end; glad that Papi is still healthy physically and mentally; glad our family has become closer in the last few years.

I'm glad that my work arrangements allow me to take as much time off as I need; glad to have lovely, supportive friends in both parts of the world, and online; most glad to have the best husband and daughters I could wish for; and glad for lots of little things like the fact that it's summer in Switzerland right now.

That's it for now

I'm leaving it at that for the moment. I hope I can tune in every now and then when I'm there but I know Papi's internet is quite terrible. And maybe I just want to sit with him and talk all the time, and see my brothers, their wives and my niece and nephew. And a few good friends too, particularly my very special old friend I talked about in an earlier post.

Thank you for reading. I am drawing a lot of strength from some amazing people here who had/have similar experiences or different kinds of struggles. You know who you are, my besties here on steemit. I love you!

Peace to all, especially those who are going through difficult times.

Sort:  

My friend.... I'm so sorry. but - like you - I'm so glad for all the blessings within this sad portion of your life. You're going to bring so much comfort for your dad!

I have to say - that picture... I can see you in her :) What a precious picture of your mother as a child.

We will be here for you Drazzy! Whenever you can, please come say hi, and grab a hug! Wishing you safe travels - and please carry all of our love with you!

<3
@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

Thank you, Dreemie, you always know the right things to say. I've only known you for such a short time but I know I would miss you terribly if I couldn't talk to you for too long xxx

@ydraz you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thank you 😊

Such a beautiful writing sweetheart. I'm so sorry for your loss, never easy to loose a family member and parents are always special ❤️
But like you said, so many blessings to be grateful for in all the greif. All the love you and your family has for each other,strong bonds.
Hold on to those blessings and know you are loved. We're all here for you Drazzy whenever you need us ❤️🤗❤️ Much love to you!

Thank you, dear. It's such a normal thing most people have to go through at some stage, and yet it still rattles you, even if you think you're prepared. But lovely messages like this one and all the support and love from people all around really makes a difference. xx

So true, we all have to deal with this kind of thing and it never gets easier and you can never prepare for it.
But with love and support from people and amazing memories you have of your mom. You will get through this and what you and your brother are doing for your dad will make a huge difference for him. Love the picture of your mom btw 😊 much love ❤️❤️

Sending you lots of love and light ❤
XXXOOO
~T

Thank you, @tamala, much appreciated! xx

Congratulations @ydraz! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @ydraz! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Sorry for your loss, @ydraz.

I am so sorry for your lost @ydraz....it is never easy losing a loved one. I pray that you and your family will find comfort. Please take care and we look forward to your return. Stay safe dear.

Congratulations @ydraz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62