What did you do while steemit was down yesterday?

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Scary!!

Like many, I didn't know what was going on yesterday. I was worried when I couldn't log into steemit. I wondered if I had done something wrong, or my key was corrupted, or steemit didn't want me anymore, or steemit had died and gone to heaven, or maybe it had all just been a big, beautiful dream? It could have been anything and it was scary for a moment because you don't want to lose someone/something you have just met and grown really, really fond of (just like you don't want to wake up from a beautiful dream).

Phew!

Luckily it wasn't scary for long thanks to my wonderful friends @andysantics and @bluefinstudios (@dreemsteem was asleep on the other side of daytime) on the @welcomewagon discord channel who cleared that up for me very quickly. Phew!! We went on to have a lovely chat about nighttime photography, beaches and lotions and potions while I was contemplating what to do with the unexpected extra time. It was about 4pm in my corner of Australia.

What to do?

I love being outside in the fresh air, so naturally I decided to go for a walk along/on the beach. The weather was dark and gloomy, quite uncharacteristic for this time of year. But I'm not complaining, after all my winters are like most people's summers. Except yesterday. Yesterday it was gloomy and looked like rain. Nonetheless, the walk was beautiful, very representative of the surroundings I live in.

The following is a recount in (unedited) pictures and I hope you like joining me on this walk. There's a bit of ocean, water and sandy beach, a bit of creek (i.e. crocodile habitat), some mangroves and some of our fascinating crabs (who mostly decided to stay in their muddy holes, probably because of the weather).

And then there's one of my favourite trees that had to be cut down after it was uprooted by a storm earlier this year. I was sad when that happened but at least it was taken by nature and not deforestation perpetrated by greedy humans.

Finally, if you like playing Where's Wally, you can even spot my other half in one of the pictures, haha.


The Beach.png
Clifton Beach with view to Double Island off Palm Cove


Ocean and sand.png
Yep, dogs loooove the beach too


Crocodile country.png
In that exact spot in the bottom right corner picture, I once spotted a baby saltwater crocodile sunbathing


Crabs.png
Only a couple of crabs were out today (usually you can see lots of bright red claws)


Walking tracks.png
Our beautiful footpaths, my other half, and my poor tree


Peace and love to all you beautiful steemians, and gratitude for @welcomewagon, @teamaustralia, @Ulogs and everything that makes steemit the great place it is!

Sort:  

Such a delightful read! I loved seeing what you did with your day, but more importantly, how personal and refreshing you made it all sound. It's like you were taking us on a walk right next to you. I honestly crave those gloomy beach days. So beautiful.

Thank you @littlescribe. Yes, I also like the beach no matter what the weather does, it all has its special charm. And I love living here where a lot of nature is still intact, left alone, and even preserved for the wildlife and for humans to just enjoy. However, we do have our problems too. For example, lots of our wallabies are being displaced by development and they are forced into areas where there's not enough room and too much road danger. I have to make a post about it one day. It's really sad.

Congratulations! This post has received an upvote, minnowboost, and post promotion, compliments of @welcomewagon!

To see the Promotional Post, go here

Thanks, that's great, much appreciated! :)

Hang on, I just realised that I forgot to upload one of the pictures, the one with the uprooted tree and my other half. Sorry, if anyone was looking for him, haha. Have added it now at the bottom. Sorry...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62804.06
ETH 2964.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60