Ulog - My Top 5 Answers To The Question "What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

sharon-mccutcheon-659776-unsplash.jpg

I mentioned in one of my posts (Newbie In The Limelight) that I was a very, very shy kid that I cried throughout a presentation, and that my mother enrolled me in different classes just to overcome it. Despite my shyness, it did not stop me from dreaming to be somebody someday. We have been asked thousands of times the question "What do you want to be when you grow up?" There was a point in my life where hearing this annoyed me, it was like being asked every morning how I liked my eggs when my whole family already knew it. But that was the thing wasn't it - everybody did not know. While we were growing up, we kept on facing this question over and over.

So if anybody asks me, I'd would give them this link instead. (Kidding!)

1. Doctor (Veterinarian / Pediatrician)

I couldn't choose which. Maybe the reason why I wanted to be a pediatrician was because my doctor was very kind and gentle to me. I admired her way of taking care of me whenever I visited her. Also, it bloomed in me the urge to help children especially those who could not afford medicines and various fees.

As for the veterinarian, there was still a part of me that longed for this. I really, really love animals. But I know that as much as I love being a doctor of animals, there were some dreams meant to be dreamt alone. I could not afford medical school and I suck in Biology!

2. Special Education Teacher

This was a special kind. SpEd techers taught children who are gifted or special. I admired those who were able to tolerate the challengers that this profession brought. Imagine teaching to a child that was having difficulty brought about by heredity or genetic problems. Nevertheless, the passion they possessed and the drive to continue moving forward despite the hardships and (sometimes) low salary they receive was what made me believe I could be one. I still believe that someday I could help gifted children in some way or another.

3. Scientist

Tell me, who didn't? I believe most of us has dreamt to be some kind of scientist, like Jimmy Neutron or Dexter. Being knowledgeable in science was appealing, mores so the capability to invent/modify/discover new things that would help humanity and the world! I wanted to be a scientist because I looooved that white coat. Sometimes I still do, but like in Biology, I suck in Math and Physics!

4. Private Investigator

I loved watching Detective Conan, tried solving crimes before he did but to no avail. I have also read a few stories of Sherlock Holmes. Trying to achieve this profession was thrilling because you get to have answers to all those mysteries and find the suspects and help people. It sounded easy when I was a kid. I still watch Detective Conan but I would rather leave fighting crimes to the police and FBI and other institutions who are exceptional in this field.

5. Web Developer

My generation witnessed the development of computers and websites. I thought the ones I saw many years back were already fine, but years went on they kept on inventing new designs and effects for the web. Wasn't it exciting to create something just by using codes? If only I could take the time to learn a lot about it, maybe just the basics would do. Unfortunately, I almost flunked the subject where they thought HTML 5, CSS and basic JavaScript. Maybe I was better on the application of these codes than be the one creating it.

After many years of discussing what I really wanted to be, where am I now?

I am currently taking up Bachelor of Science in Development Communication at the University of the Philippines Los Baños. It might have been a little different from the ones mentioned above but I am pretty sure (and I have no doubt) that I love my program. We work on "unfolding human potential" by maximizing the use of communication. We do not only use it, we also look for the long-term effect and long-term development that we can impart to our stakeholders. We do not impose but we simply ask what is it really that they need?

Being a development communication practitioner means understanding the role of communication in all aspects of life whether it be social, political or academic. Communication is the major key to success and development. I know that God will help me achieve more and that this profession will be my joy and life. Padayon!

Hoe about you? Have you decided on your career path? I would really like to hear it.

#steemitpowerupph
#unlisteemersph
#partiko

Sort:  

I used to always answer that I would want to be a functional member of the society. Then later on during high school, I just said I want to be awesome, whatever that is (on my definition)

I'm pretty sure you are already awesome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54