Zeke's Family Garden is growing!

in #ulog6 years ago

family garden.jpg

Here is an update post on the progress on the Pickleman Family Garden series that started a couple weeks ago https://steemit.com/ulog/@zekepickleman/zeke-s-family-garden I have since discovered that another of my new STEEMit friends is pursuing the same objective of sorts and you can check our her vastly superior effort here
https://steemit.com/thealliance/@brandyb/step-1-urban-farm-grow-the-food

We have had nice bouts of very warm and dry, multi-day periods of rain, and even some cool windy over the last few days. These changing patterns seem to be inspiring the garden, especially the tomatoes.

Here, you can see the garden along with the shadow of the amateur photographer as he tried to get the best angle.

june garden1.jpg

  • The tomatoes are doing very well and my daughter has started to pick the "suckers" off them so they don't grow too many branches. https://www.thespruce.com/should-you-prune-out-tomato-suckers-1403290

  • The Oregano apparently likes the shade of the tomatoes and I have like 4 of them planted underneath them.

  • Marigolds apparently repel some insects and attract bees which is good.

  • The hot peppers are for me and get the morning and midday sun

  • The english cucumbers seem to have sprouted very well from just sees that I didn't start indoors. They will climb the sticks and I will put strings up the fence for them to vine.

  • I have assigned the trimming of the neighbour's weeds to my eldest girl and she is apparently falling a little behind

june garden2.jpg

Let's try the sideways view:

  • 2 kinds of sugar snap peas grow along the ends and also sprouted well with no indoor start. They will climb the strictures there and maybe even the corn.

  • The peppers (sweet green and sweet California orange)were planted a couple days after the tomatoes and seem to be a little slower to grow too fast.

  • Along the back, I have planted a few stalks of corn for fun rather than anything else. We are surrounded by a billion corn fields and corn stands on every road but why the hell not?

  • There is a plot of asparagus that I am not sure will see yield as I learned they take a couple years to get going. We will see how they do as I am too lazy to remove them.

  • The mystery plants are just that. I will keep an eye on them and see if they turn out to be weeds or a few errant seeds strewn by my little one.

june garden3.jpg

  • Green Beans (pole) were requested by my wife so I planted them in a pot with some sticks to climb up one week ago. Growing well.

  • The tomato is one of the spares I had that I put in a pot in case one of the garden ones didn't make it, or I could replant in bigger boxes later on.

june garden4.jpg

  • Nasturtiums are flowers but they are edible so we just created a makeshift section at the end of the garden. My daughter wants me to tell you they taste spicy and are delectable.

june garden5.jpg

  • These raspberries were planted last year to mix into the flower garden. They didn't fruit but look to be ready this year.

june garden6.jpg

  • I also planted some Parsley because they are great for adding a little flavour and decoration to any dinner you want to fancy up.

june garden7.jpg

I have another Raspberry bush planted last year in a planter that forgot about. It appears to be doing well. I wonder if it will help with the cross pollination of with the other one? Anyone know?

family garden banner.jpg

Any tips? Post some pics of what you have growing!

Sort:  

Well, your corn will not be GMO unlike that around every corner ;)

My favorite from all those plants is probably "No idea" :D Latin name according to Translate is "non intellego" :D

I really reaally wish I will have something like this in the future.

You can definitely do it.

I was thinking the non intelligo was just carelessly strewn cucumbers but the leaves are not looking the same. I am hoping they are some carelessly strewn hot peppers!

Looks great .

Ah thanks!

Until you have your own garden box, I will name my mystery plants after you. There! I hope they turn out to be nice cucumbers growing up the corn stalks or some more hot peppers for Zeke!

june garden2a.jpg

Thanks. I don’t think anything has ever been named after me. So this will be the first. Hahaha

It starting to look like a sunflower. A bit early to tell but that would be kinda cool!

Can’t wait to find out.

tips.png

Oh wow I didn't know all those...tips.

Thanks for the clarification.

no worries, your post is great. I was just waiting for power to recharge. nothing was amiss. just would have loved the word ULOG in title as we are trying also to create ranking for the concept ulogs in the search engines

Oh I know what you are trying to create and all of the people you are supporting and wanted to lend my efforts to the cause. I am apparently no good at reading the fine print.

@sequentialvibe and I were talking over beer and agreed that one of the best applications of the STEEMit platform is to spread wealth directly to those who can use it. Especially those whose lives can be improved more than our own with an upvote. This is what you do and are promoting and I am all in.

Thanks sincerely for what you do.

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

The best produce can't be bought! But good neighbors can share! Perhaps your neighbors will benefit in spite of the weeds!

You have been defended with a 17.31% upvote!
I was summoned by @zekepickleman.

This post has received a 20.00% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @zekepickleman. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 26.83% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @zekepickleman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97