#ulog 7: A Mother's healing secret

in #ulogs6 years ago (edited)

I woke up feeling unwell, with a clogged nose and a slight fever. This is probably because yesterday I did some chores outside while there's drizzle. I called my team leader and told her that I will not be able to go to work today.

I asked my sister to prepare some food for me so I could eat and drink medicine. She prepared some noodle soup for me and said it's best to sip on it while it's hot.

My siblings and I were raised in a time where noodle soup is the best food for the sickly, and Vicks vaporub could cure your cough and colds. Looking back on those times brought back our childhood memories when our mother was still alive.

I could remember my mother putting Vicks vaporub on my nose, my chest and my back. My mother would also buy stock of Skyflakes that goes along with the noodle soup. As I dwell on those memories, I realize that it's really not the noodle soup nor the Vicks vaporub that made me well, but the loving touch and care of my mother. Whenever we get sick, she was always there by our side. Always checking on us, asking if we are feeling better. I would usually thank her and tell her that I will take care of her when she gets old too. And she would just smile sweetly.

On times like this, I miss my mother so much. And I envy those whose mothers are still by their side. I would always tell my girlfriend that she's lucky that her mother is still alive and she should take care of her and love her for as long as her mother is still with them.

I believe that all mothers are alike when it comes to loving their children. A mother's love and care is irreplaceable. Their sacrifice for their children is more than anyone could imagine. And it's not only during Mother's day that we show our love for them. Everyday is a day to be thankful that you still have your mother by your side.

aviary-image-1531806528026.jpeg
The magical Vicks vaporub. Well, it's actually a new variation of Vicks, a baby rub, which is suitable for babies. This is from my sister and is used by my nephew and niece.

aviary-image-1531806606358.jpeg
This is the noodle soup my sister had prepared.

gifeditor_20180714_003143.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63