ULOG #26: Garden Journal: What grows in our yard and around our house

in #ulogs6 years ago (edited)

Garden Journal (June 2018).jpg

I read about @mhm-philippines Garden Journal and it made me do one as well. This was initiated by @simplymike.


(Mints planted in vertical garden)

Summer starts around March until late May. However, beginning this year we have had scattered rains throughout the beginning of the first month. Came March, we expected the rains will let up.

However, we had more rain instead.

Throughout the summer months, we have thunderstorms. It is funny because you came from one rainy place to another that is dry or vice versa. It is kind of infuriating sometimes more so when I leave home, the outburst of rain would leave me wet and when I arrived to my destination, it was dry and would never rain the whole time I am there.

Now that the monsoon and storm season starts, we have more rain daily. At least with thunderstorms they don't last that long. With monsoon and storms, rains can go on day and night for days and extending to weeks.

This is good though for plants like mints because they seem to thrive more during these months.

We have had a break from the rains this weekend and I took that chance to go out and share with you photos.

IMG_2538.JPG

IMG_2568.JPG

IMG_2571.JPG

We have four avocados trees in our backyard. I was surprised that even though it was a rainy summer, they still bear fruits abundantly. Two of these trees are among the mulberry tree, pomelo tree, Indian mango tree and jackfruit tree. There are times that we would ask church members, friends, family and relatives come visit and pick avocados from our tree. We definitely cannot finish all these fruits in abundance. We can have all the shakes and ice creams we can make from these fruits but definitely not all of it.

Step Out in Style!.jpg

The jackruit and Indian mangoes are also aplenty. When the jackfruits start giving off that sweet scent, then the ripening is getting closer. Right now, we just have to wait. We had to put sack over some of them to shelter them from the rain. I wish we could do all that to all the fruits and trees. The pomelo trees have fruits as well but it would take longer for them to be harvested. Some of the mangoes can be picked. The mulberry tree did not disappoint as well although lesser berries this time.

IMG_2543.JPG

These bananas were from our grandfather's garden. The one above is the banana tree in our backyard. I am not sure if it would be the same as our grandfather's banana tree. I cannot honestly remember what kind of banana we have in our yard. I guess we will just have to wait and see. Maybe because of the incessant rain that the bananas from our grandfather's garden turned out to be hard. We have to make banana-q out of them (friend banana in caramelized sugar) so we can eat them or blend those and cook as pancake.

(Sweet potato, yam, turmeric and cassava plants)

Behind and below this banana are guava trees. In one of the guava trees, there are wild cherries and an apple tree beside it. I do not see any fruits from the wild cherry just yet. The apple tree is still young and it would be years before we can expect fruits from it.

We have lots of cassava plants. Before, there were more sweet potatoes and chayotes but chayotes do not grow healthy anymore.

We also have yacon plants. We usually have these in our front yard but it has been a long time that I have not seen some. I thought we no longer have them so I was surprised when I saw these in our backyard. These tubers are good source of antioxidants, helps with weight loss and lowers blood pressure. It also helps in keeping your liver healthy.

We also have Baguio beans and corns planted. However, these are not for consumption because whatever this year's harvest will be, it will be used for planting next year. We may still be eating some of the produce though.

IMG_2590.JPG

IMG_2535.JPG

On our rooftop, my sister had potted plants there such as tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, more mint, chili, oregano, onions, strawberries, etc. This is our first time to plant strawberries. May it yield a lot of fruits.

IMG_2533.JPG

IMG_2525.JPG

(Patani or Lima Beans)

When chayote or Christophine was growing abundantly, lima beans and masaprola (passion fruit) race along with it. We still have passion fruit and lima beans growing. The passion fruit have stunted growth and sickly. Not only do we eat the fruits but also cook the passion fruit tops which I like to mix in making ramyun (instant spicy Korean noodles).

More ornamental plants are planted in our front yard such as the night-blooming cereus and birds of paradise. Baguio beans are also planted.

IMG_2523.JPG

We also placed potted plants in our stairs and it is a mix of herbs, vegetables and ornamental plants. We try to maintain them the best we can.

Leaving you with this cute plant that I noticed growing in between the branches of one of the guava trees. I am not sure what kind of plant this is. I will transfer that to a pot and see what it will grow into.

I find it fascinating how plants find ways to survive. It is indeed survival of the fittest.

I have had a hard time taking photo of this because my camera does not function really well plus the fact that it is about to rain. It was drizzling a little when I was taking photos around the house and grew stronger by the minute as I was taking a photo of this thing.

So there goes my journal for this month.

This is my ulog. Tell me yours.

LEEART.gif


I am using this divider provided by @surpassinggoogle here in this post about @ulog.

What is @ulog? Read it HERE.


THIS IS A REMINDER TO BE CAREFUL WITH YOUR ACCOUNTS AND KEYS HERE IN STEEMIT. There are criminals, hackers and abusers all around.

Check out these articles:

This One Here Is For You @Sami100: "You Can Steal My Money But You Can't Take Away My Happiness!" || Be Careful Steemians And Protect Your Private Keys!!! by @surfermarly

PLEASE DON'T be the NEXT VICTIM of a PHISHING SCAM !! by @lynncoyle1
⚠⚠ WARNING FRIENDS ⚠⚠ by @johndoer123
Protect your ASS by @omitaylor
Scammers started disinformation from @arcange



This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Naks may green thumb kau bro, hehe

Dto sa amin kamote ang meron, haha

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Dami din naming kamote nun. Ngayon di na ganu tumutubo. Maalala ko nun bata kami nakakahukay kami paminsan minsan ng malalaking kamote.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

ano kya pgkakaiba ng kamote jan dto?hehe

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Very nice garden and great post! My first try with strawberries too! I love avocados!

Thanks @mhm-philippines! Good luck with your strawberries. I think they have more chances than ours. Ours are showing signs of dying. Still, hoping for the best.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you! Hopefully yours will pull through. I shaded mine from the hot sun in the late afternoon and I put a screen above them to keep the hard rain from beating them into the ground.
Thanks for stopping by!
God bless!

That's rich yard full of greens the bananas and avocados, God help them because I will be eating them like there is no tomorrow!
I love Avos!

Oh, man! If only you are here I could let you eat your fill :D

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Wow sarap naman ng avocado sir.. Galing kung sa grocery, your backyard is a one stop shop.. Anjan n lahat from fruits vegetables and some herbal plants.... Have a great day sir... 😘😍❤️

Salamat @avhyaceulip! One of the perks of having a garden :D Have a good one!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I would really love to live in a place like yours.
#GrowFoodNotLawns

PS. I really like avocados. I envy you.

Yes, grow food in your lawns :D Nice slogan. You can start with potted plants and vertical gardening :D

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

It really is truly fascination how plans thrive in certain places and in certain mysterious ways. Either ways that's the beauty of nature and not like you've got a really great garden. You could even fees yourself from there. Great to see you back man.

Indeed. Nature gives a lot of lessons we can derive from. It helps to be observant.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Wow! Mabalin umay ayanyo, Arief? Hehe. I love those avocados, lemons, jackfruits. Your backyard is full of the goodness of the Earth! Amazing.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Wen maykan habang adu pay hehe.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Very nica garden! maganda gabi @leeart

Thanks @benedict08! How's your day going so far? :D

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 128 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wow! You have all plants and fruits in your garden that we consider exotic and pay a lot to get them! :)

I would love to grow jackfruit or mango in the garden! I have actually never tried fresh jackfruit as I can't get it in Switzerland!

But I guess you might have issues to find berries like raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, etc?

I love your garden my friend!

I'm sorry for all the rain that you're facing but as you say it is good for the garden :) just keep it up and the sun will come out one day :)

I would love to have those other berries. I am not fond of strawberries. I'd prefer blueberries. I have tasted fresh blueberries, raspberries or blackberries. I can get them as dried or in jams or spread or in pies but those are not fresh ones.

Good thing we have had sunny days the past few days. Time to do laundry so the sun can dry them lol!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Strawberries are not my favorites neither. I love raspberries :) Very soon they will in season in Switzerland so I'll be able to enjoy fresh local produce.

That is a good activity for nice sunny days! hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73