The girls are off grid

The Formula 1 umbrella girls have been a staple of the sporting calendar for many a hot blooded male over the years & it looks like we have seen the last of them as Formula 1 has decided to end their involvement in the sport.

From a feminist standpoint there will be many women that will be pleased with this decision although it was a predominantly male decision to say goodbye to these provocatively dressed ladies as the tradition has come under much scrutiny in recent years.

So wish them luck as you wave them goodbye I suppose. I wonder how many other sports will jump on the bandwagon now that Formula 1 has set a precedent.

Boxing, Nascar, Moto GP, where will society draw the line?

Could we see the end of whole sport disciplines or see them come into disrepute? How much more or less gratuitous would a feminist find some eye candy holding an umbrella compared to say a professional volleyball player?

The Aussie V8 super car series banned there grid girls in 2016 & in Britain The professional Darts Corporation announced that it will stop using 'walk on girls' after receiving a fair bit of pressure from its broadcasting partners. Lewis Hamilton found himself in hot water after spraying champagne at an umbrella girl after his victory in the 2015 Chinese Grand Prix.

As with any rule or law a line has to be drawn & it's just one of those things how or where do we draw the line I suppose.
I have always found feminism a little ironic really, 'Women telling other women how to be acceptable women'.

I thought it was Nascar where they only turned left!!!

steem follow.gif

Sort:  

I'm glad to see them drop it! I mean it's all well and good how you dress in you own life and I'm all for women doing what they feel is empowering but I am not a fan of the over-sexed up world we are now in. It's everywhere, it's degrading to women AND men - I'm all for bringing back meaningful, real relationships and getting as far away from this throw away, fake and pointless tinder world we are currently in..
Maybe this will start a huge conversation about this image society puts up in all of our faces of this perfect barbie, eye candy -only good for one thing woman.
Society makes every man want her (but only for one thing cause you know "those girls" could never be faithful) and every woman want to BE her .. not realizing ^ that ^ double standard, they just see the love and want to have it. This Hoe/Housewife problem is killing the younger generations, it's scary because they know no different. Then we are all wondering why the divorce rate is skyrocketing and everyone is isolated and unhappy..

SORRY! end rant omg just saw how much I typed..

You are a smart smart woman @amariespeaks! I actually completely agree with everything you said. And on top of your points, I would also say the mind manipulations occur in so many other ways too. From what political party we think we should support, to sending our boy/girls over to far away lands to "protect" us here in the "USA". There is a massive machine that is designed to keep us dumb and useless, and in most cases sadly that machine succeeds.

There is so much waste in so many areas that I could write 10x what you wrote and still just be on the intro. I'm happy that you 3 decided to work together and make a decision about this post. I know we have to start our boundaries from somewhere and adjust as we learn, so I'm proud of you all just making a decision.

If nothing else comes of it, I get to see some fire in your belly (definitely on this issue). And while we all have our pet peeves we dislike about particular subjects, I respect you and your thoughts on this subject.

Thank you @davemccoy I try to be as respectful of others as possible when it comes to differing opinions - I'm a firm believer in freedom of speech (not just freedom for those who share my values but all sides) I couldn't agree with you more about the mass mind control machine - its got its claws buried deep within us all - sometimes in such hidden, "accepted" ways that we forget they are even there..
what a great response thanks @davemccoy!

Lol, I like this one too. Just not sure if Dave will let me put it on with these pics.

you're the curator... as a red-blooded man, I must recuse myself from this one! :)

As a newbie I have to try new things so I went for a bit of clickbait gratuity purely for the purpose of scientific research of course :p

haha... yes its all about science for the professor!

Specializing in biology bordering on physics :)

haha... I always liked your field of studay ;)

Newtons 3rd law; For every cause there's a reaction Dave ;)

Of course. Lol

The "committee" unanimously agree your post is a conversation piece that will encourage discussion and bring interesting dialogue to the table. After all, we don’t want to stand in the way of scientific research 😉.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69398.84
ETH 3695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.32