Hidden evil: Bad thoughts can be more grievous than bad acts

in #undefined6 years ago (edited)

People keep a lot of things in their hearts. It's easy to hide one's thoughts and feelings inside one's own mind; after all, no one knows what another person is thinking. For instance, one who thinks bad thoughts towards another person cannot be suspected of doing such things, because no one can read his/her mind. He/she may appear friendly towards someone, but is actually cursing the person deep inside.



Such bad thoughts can be more grievous than actions that can be seen and punished by the law; these are hidden and no one can stop anyone from keeping evil in his/her heart. These can even be translated into action without anyone knowing about it, thus preventing them from defending themselves.



Christians should turn away from such evil thoughts.

Psalm 19:12 (NLT)

How can I know all the sins lurking in my heart? Cleanse me from these hidden faults.

Such hidden thoughts have the power to hold us.

Psalm 9:13 (NLT)

Keep your servant from deliberate sins!
Don’t let them control me.
Then I will be free of guilt
and innocent of great sin.

The Bible even considers those who hate other people to be murderers. Such hatred in their hearts

1 John 3:15-17 (NLT)

Anyone who hates another brother or sister[a] is really a murderer at heart. And you know that murderers don’t have eternal life within them. We know what real love is because Jesus gave up his life for us. So we also ought to give up our lives for our brothers and sisters. If someone has enough money to live well and sees a brother or sister[b] in need but shows no compassion—how can God’s love be in that person?

Genesis 6:5 (NLT)

The Lord observed the extent of human wickedness on the earth, and he saw that everything they thought or imagined was consistently and totally evil.

We humans are not able to read other people's minds. The law cannot condemn people for their bad thoughts which slander, insult, and plan crimes towards others. We may not have the ability to see hidden evil and punish people to implement justice, but God is completely able to do so.

Jeremiah 17:9-10 (NLT)

The human heart is the most deceitful of all things, and desperately wicked. Who really knows how bad it is? But I, the Lord, search all hearts and examine secret motives. I give all people their due rewards, according to what their actions deserve.

Luke 16:15 (NLT)

Then he said to them, “You like to appear righteous in public, but God knows your hearts. What this world honors is detestable in the sight of God.

Such people will receive what is rightful for them. We should not take revenge on those who because God's justice is perfect and he sees all things.

Romans 12:19 (NLT)
Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say, “I will take revenge; I will pay them back,” says the Lord.

Jeremiah 9:8-9 (NLT)

For their tongues shoot lies like poisoned arrows. They speak friendly words to their neighbors while scheming in their heart to kill them. Should I not punish them for this?” says the Lord. “Should I not avenge myself against such a nation?”

Psalm 7:16 (NLT)

The trouble they make for others backfires on them. The violence they plan falls on their own heads.

Proverbs 26:27 (NLT)

If you set a trap for others, you will get caught in it yourself. If you roll a boulder down on others, it will crush you instead.

It is inevitable for people to think bad thoughts towards others. These could be caused by jealousy, deep-seated anger, bitterness, envy, and other negative feelings. We cannot do anything to protect ourselves from these things that others may be plotting against us, but we can trust God who sees everything and ensures that every evil will be punished.

Romans 11:33 (KJV)

O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!

Thanks be to God! ❤



(Disclaimer: None of these images are mine. All rights belong to their respective owners.)

Sort:  

Matthew 10:16 "Look, I am sending you out like sheep among wolves; therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves."
I constantly try to anticipate what evil someone may do towards me, from innocent manipulation or positioning to a tactical disadvantage to downright horror scenarios.
If God counted whatever dark thought creeps in my mind it would be an extremely long list. I pray for forgiveness from God when I catch myself contemplating evil. But, evil sometimes creeps in... As long as we live in the flesh sin will follow us - but if we have faith in Jesus it will never overcome us.
I was in a very dark place in my mind when I turned to Jesus for the first time and I just called his name, I barely knew the bible, and he changed my heart. He knows me and you, he knows us better than we know ourselves and I would bet my life - he will save any man or woman from sin if only we call out to him for help.

Yes, it is. When we humble ourselves before God, He welcomes us to be part of His family. Being part means being work in progress. Praise God!

Thanks! I agree. God bless you :)

Thanks for sharing! I totally agree. May we always be mindful that everything is unveiled before our God. May we even take His grace transforming us to be His original design.

Thanks! :) God bless you

Congratulations @gmcdeguzman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65