Sort:  

If you look at the numbers I’ve shown above, you will see that expenses to run all the witnesses servers are already pretty high at the current STEEM price.
Additionally, top witnesses are not supposed to fund the development but run the network.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The top 19 make 1 Steem per minute, that is $400 dollars a day.
I don't know what kind of mega factory they are running, but I think that with $400 a day they can pay for multiple dedicated servers around the world and still buy a few cars a year.
I am a witness too, I used to pay $150 a month on a server, managed to cut down the cost to $30 a month, and I still have zero missed blocks.
It is the witnesses responsibility to maintain the blockchain, not just produce blocks, but maintain and keep the quality, that is why they make over 10k dollars a month! I miss the times when witnesses spent money on advertisement for Steem and other things, now they don't even step in to say "hold on, together we on the top 19 make over 200k a month, I think we can help with development expenses, because if steem goes up, we are the ones that profit the most"
200k a month for the top 19, if the price doubles it is 400k a month, and you tell me they need that much to pay for 19 servers? what kind of datacenter are they running?

Posted using Partiko Android

Not 1 Steem per minute, only 0.23 Steem.

Last week the top 1 witness made 9261 blocks per week, that is 1323 blocks per day. Too witnesses get 0.23SP per block so that is 304 STEEM per day which is about $93 per day, not $400.

Your numbers are not correct anymore. Also the number of SP per block is different for top vs backup witnesses.

Also one top witness does not need just one server, what about backup and test etc... You have not read my post as I detailed that inside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83